MPASM intead PM, how to change ?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default MPASM intead PM, how to change ?

    Hello,

    I need to put assembly istructions inside my program like;
    ASM
    CharTable
    DW 00AAh, 00AAh ; etc.
    endasm

    So i know i can't use PM assembler because it don't support this assembly instructions. Instead it i use MPASM and it work fine for me.
    The only problem is how i can tell to picbasic compiler(i use a older dos version 2.60) to use MPASM instead PM ?
    If i try to set ther parameter "PBP.EXE -ampasmwin" mpasmwin don't work i the only thing i get back is a lot of errors.
    But if put a ";" in front a "PM_USED EQU 0" in my "source.asm" and try to assemble it with mpasmwin all work fine and i get a .Hex working file.
    So can you help me, how i can tell to PBP to don't put inside my .asm file that line(PM_USED EQU 0) ???
    Thanks for your time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    20


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: MPASM intead PM, how to change ?

    So i have upgrade my PBP to 3, and now all work fine.
    But if i try to pass this directive in assembly for allocate data in my pbp source:
    #CONFIG
    CharTable
    db aa,aa ; etc.
    #ENDCONFIG

    The assembler answer me:
    Error[113] C:\PROGRAMMI\MECANIQUE\MCSX\SOURCES\GLCDF-CHAR.ASM 30 : Symbol not previously defined (aa)
    Error[113] C:\PROGRAMMI\MECANIQUE\MCSX\SOURCES\GLCDF-CHAR.ASM 30 : Symbol not previously defined (aa)
    Error[118] C:\PROGRAMMI\PBP3\PBPPIC14.LIB 1152 : Overwriting previous address contents (0000)
    Error[118] C:\PROGRAMMI\PBP3\PBPPIC14.LIB 1152 : Overwriting previous address contents (0000)

    So please where i mistake ?

    PS:
    The funny thing is that in past(last summer) i have use it and all work!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,601


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: MPASM intead PM, how to change ?

    Read your manual about #CONFIG in section 4.9.

    ASM/ENDASM might be what you want.

    Robert

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    20


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: MPASM intead PM, how to change ?

    Hi Demon,
    Thanks for you reply.
    Yes i have noted my errors soon and i have change it(asm/endasm instead config/endconfig) before you answer to me.
    Now all work good but i have spotted the problem in "readcode" istruction on pic 16f628A that seem don't work with it.
    View my new question, maybe you can help me for this
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=18125:

Similar Threads

  1. MPASM v5.36
    By Fredrick in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 14th July 2010, 01:43
  2. MPASM vs PM
    By Squibcakes in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 10th October 2007, 01:29
  3. Using MPASM
    By fowardbias in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 6th September 2007, 03:41
  4. mpasm
    By jcleaver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 25th March 2007, 04:06
  5. mpasm
    By jcleaver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 12th February 2007, 09:54

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts