ON/OFF button for PIC16f877a (ambiguity)

Closed Thread

Default ON/OFF button for PIC16f877a (ambiguity)

Hi, I'm very new to microcontrollers and i need an ON/OFF button for my sphygmomanometer project to turn it off and on and i don't know if i did the wiring of the pic the right way or not ?
    Name:  Sans titre.JPG
Views: 2602
Size:  15.6 KB

if it's correct, does turning ON & OFF the pic (the way i wired it) could make any firmware glitches or some other problems ? , i'm using pic16f877a ..
    i'm new at this so please bear with me (and excuse my poor english,it's not my native language).. any help at all would be much appreciated, thanks in advance

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default Re: ON/OFF button for PIC16f877a (ambiguity)

EDIT: Double post, sorry.
    Last edited by HenrikOlsson; - 22nd August 2012 at 07:50. Reason: Double post.

Hi,
    If all you want is a simple on/off, like a toggle switch or something, then you should wire it in series with Vdd. Always remember to put a decoupling capacitor from Vdd to Vss/GND on each of the Vdd pins, 100nF or something (it's not critical). The MCLR pin is the reset pin, when pulled low it will reset the PIC but it does not turn it off. If you want a "restart button" then pull MCLR high thru a resistor and put the switch between MCLR and Vss/GND.

EDIT: Ooops, apparently I'm not awake yet, you have it wired properly, just remember the decoupling caps.

/Henrik.

thank you very much for your reply, i posted the same question in an other forum and a member replied :