Matrix keyboard problem


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43

    Exclamation Matrix keyboard problem

    Hello all. I have a little simple problem but I can't figure it out. I have a system with a 4x4 matrix keyboard, LCD, and a Siemens processor. All system functions are processed inside that microcontroller.I want that system running, and in parallel with it to process by myself its keypad in a PICin parallel with the Siemens micro. I can't change the keys to put a double switch key. I tried to process the keypad with 4 rows and 4 columns connected directly to my pic, and, of course, it didn't worked. The bad thing is that I don't have time to figure out how does the Siemens micro process the keypad, I want an universal sollution for this kind of job. Any ideea woud be great.Thank you very much,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    762


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MegaADY
    The bad thing is that I don't have time to figure out how does the Siemens micro process the keypad, I want an universal solution for this kind of job.
    You must be kidding
    regards

    Ralph

    _______________________________________________
    There are only 10 types of people:
    Those who understand binary, and those who don't ...
    _______________________________________________



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    i probably miss somehing on that one.. Do you want to add an external circuit to this already functionnal keypad and do according stuff with another PIC controller? IF so... that's not impossible but remind tha the first one already send scan signal to that keypad so... how to deal with it??? can need some hardware modifications.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I know that the first circuit sends scan signals to the keypad.I have to put some external circuirty. But I don't know what to put there. I didn't meant by

    ' The bad thing is that I don't have time to figure out how does the Siemens micro process the keypad '
    to say that I can't deal with it . I can, but this takes time. I have enough time to do this on that device I have, but I'll have to do this in a place where I will have 30 minutes to capture the keypad and there will be no time for signal measuting . That's why I said I need a quite 'universal' sollution. I can connect over the rows and columns. and I have to process the keypad in parallel with the original processor from the pcb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Set PORTB to input, place all 8 wires of the PORTB in parrallel with the actual design, and read all 16 keys results to PORTB, write your results to internal EEPROM, LCD or else. That's the only thing i can see. BUT i'm really not 100% sure that the reading of the keys will always be the same... worth to try.

    Something like
    Code:
    TRISB=255
    a var byte
    
    start:
         a=PORTB
         LCDOUT $FE,1,"PORTB= ",HEX2 a
         pause 200
         goto start
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hmmm.... Interesting ideea. It might work . I'll test this in two days and I'll post reply here. But I feel like something is missing me . Not sure what exactly , but ... if the main system scans lines, and at the time t0 it scans line 3 and I am shorting line 1 column 1 , the result will be different than if the system scans other line and I am shorting line 1 column 1. right ? Not sure but ... I'll try this. Thank you very much.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    My assumption was good. it's working fine. i just finish to test it. Have fun.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    43


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you very much ... it works fine !

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    hi MegaADY,

    nice to know it's working for you!
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. 10x4 matrix keyboard using only portB
    By aratti in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: - 16th November 2011, 09:39
  2. AT/PS2 Keybord - PIC Interface?
    By Kamikaze47 in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 73
    Last Post: - 9th August 2009, 16:10
  3. I've made keyboard with pic, but i have a problem.
    By XErTuX in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 8th November 2008, 00:40
  4. Keyboard Matrix with a Twist
    By k3v1nP in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: - 29th October 2008, 10:51
  5. Flashing!! LED Dot matrix problem
    By chai98a in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 4th December 2006, 09:45

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts