PIC problem !!!


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: PIC problem !!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    33

    Default PIC problem !!!

    Hi all,

    I wrote a program using PBP250C for the 16F877A
    i am using the ICSP to program the PIC, everything is working properly, i can write and read the PIC, but sometimes when trying to read the program via the ICSP, after reading it, the PIC stops running and i should reprogram it again, as if it becomes erased !!!
    i don't know what's happening, the hardware is correct, it is not the first time that i am using the ICSP, i can share the PCB if it is necessary.

    Anyone can help ???
    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    869


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC problem !!!

    Maybe it's a MCLR issue?
    -Bert

    The glass is not half full or half empty, Its twice as big as needed for the job!

    http://foamcasualty.com/ - Warbird R/C scratch building with foam!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida USA
    Posts
    644


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC problem !!!

    Rony,

    There are many things that can cause that problem. If we can see the schematics it would help. There is some help here for the melabs programers,

    http://melabs.com/support/icsp.htm
    "No one is completely worthless. They can always serve as a bad example."

    Anonymous

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    33


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC problem !!!

    Name:  GC.JPG
Views: 244
Size:  99.7 KB
    This is the PCB capture, thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    33


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC problem !!!

    Name:  GC.JPG
Views: 253
Size:  100.1 KB

    With "DIP Switch"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    33


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC problem !!!

    PORTB is internally puled up,
    i switched ON pin 4 in the DIP switch (RB3 to zero) and still having the same problem

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    China
    Posts
    266


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC problem !!!

    Hi,

    I have never liked the 16F877A pic. When I used it I always had resets and other strange issues so I just changed to 18F452 or 18F4620 which are both pin-compatible with the 877A and not that much more expensive.

    Just make sure the LVP (low voltage programming) is turned off in the config bits.

    Sometimes I rather have a working product than really understanding why it doesnt work.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,615


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC problem !!!

    Hi,

    With the BIG caps on your board something Hurts me :

    14.5 Power-on Reset (POR)
    A Power-on Reset pulse is generated on-chip when


    V
    DD rise is detected (in the range of 1.2V-1.7V). To take
    advantage of the POR, tie the MCLR pin to V

    DD
    through an RC network, as described in


    Section 14.4
    “MCLR”

    . A maximum rise time for VDD is specified.
    See

    Section 17.0 “Electrical Characteristics” for
    details.
    When the device starts normal operation (exits the
    Reset condition), device operating parameters (voltage,
    frequency, temperature, etc.) must be met to
    ensure operation. If these conditions are not met, the
    device must be held in Reset until the operating conditions
    are met.


    looks there's a missing cap in your design ... don't you think ???

    On my side, I use MC34064P5 supervisor to get rid of power on or reset rise times ... and have NO issues with reset pin ...

    BTW ... a hardware reset after reading the Prog memory is not to forget ...

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 7th July 2011 at 16:30.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts