Max cable length?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    187

    Default Max cable length?

    What is max cable length between the PIC and the serial LCD, will it work whit a 15 - 20 meter long cable?
    Any special cable needed?
    Serial LCD http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod...alLCD-RevE.pdf

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530

    Default

    Assuming you are using a max232 device in your hardware it is well within the limits.
    Edit: and this link has some different results: http://www.hamradio.cc/computer/RS23...unications.php


    RS232 cable length according to Texas Instruments
    Baud rateMaximum cable length (ft)
    1920050
    9600500
    48001000
    24003000
    Last edited by ScaleRobotics; - 29th June 2010 at 16:44.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    187

    Default

    I want to connect a display to this devboard http://www.mikroe.com/eng/products/v...6b-plc-system/ and it has the MAX232 onboard.

    Do I have to use a MAX232 in both ends (display and devboard) or just that one on the devboard.

    If you take a look at this display http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/LCD/SerLCD_V2_5.PDF it take incoming "TTL level" signals, should I still use a MAX232 whit this display, the MAX232 converts the PICīs TTL signals to RS232 signals that has a voltage upp to -+10 volts so if I have a MAX232 at the sender side I will damage the 16F88 on the display hardware if I donīt convert the RS232 signals back to TTL level signals?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530

    Default

    I am not sure how far TTL would travel. I would guess that it is much shorter than using a max232, since you don't have the range of voltage available. You could test it without...., or you could put a max232 on both sides, or...

    You might be able to get by using a max232 on your hardware side, and on the serial lcd side, use a resistor as shown in the PBP manual under SERIN example. This 22k resistor would protect your serial lcd (RX) from the max232 voltages, but should preserve the distance, since the +/- voltage is getting all the way to the resistor.
    Last edited by ScaleRobotics; - 29th June 2010 at 19:56.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530

    Default

    Then again, Darrel got 25 feet using a normal LCD. See this thread: http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...7417#post47417

    So maybe at the 2400 baud rate, you could get enough distance using ttl?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    187

    Default

    Thank you for your help.
    I have now ordered this display http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...oducts_id=9568 and will come back whit some feedback when I have make some tests.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    187

    Default

    I just tried whit 9600 baud on a 11 meters shielded cable and it seems work well so far
    I have no MAX232 on the sender side, I just connect the RX direct to PORTC.6

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    187

    Thumbs up

    Update:
    9600 Baud and a 15 meter long cat5 cable and it still working whit this code and TTL level signals direct from the PIC.

    Code:
    start:
    SEROUT2 lcdtx,84,[254,1]
    SEROUT2 lcdtx,84,[254,line1,dec counter," ROW1"]
    SEROUT2 lcdtx,84,[254,line2,dec counter," ROW2"]
    SEROUT2 lcdtx,84,[254,line3,dec counter," ROW3"]
    SEROUT2 lcdtx,84,[254,line4,dec counter," ROW4"]
    pause 500
    goto start
    counter is a long sized variable.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fredrick View Post
    Update:
    9600 Baud and a 15 meter long cat5 cable and it still working whit this code and TTL level signals direct from the PIC.
    Thanks a lot Frederick, very interesting. This is a good MythBusters episode, at least for me! You want to try another couple speeds, like 19200 and 38,400 (if the LCD has them)? Then you will have some pretty complete info for anyone thinking the same thing!

    Walter
    Last edited by ScaleRobotics; - 2nd July 2010 at 20:46.

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts