SEROUT2 broken on 18F4620 ?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    96

    Default SEROUT2 broken on 18F4620 ?

    My kicked Black Cat is back...
    I ported my BMP085 test code from a 18F1220 to a 18F4620, and after reconfiguring the config directives, and checking port pins correct etc etc I expected my code to run. Well it did, except I can not get SEROUT2 to work on the 18F4620.
    It's like the PBP SEROUT2 command is broken for this PIC.

    I've changed pins three times now, and my 'I'm Alive' LED will flash away perfectly normally on it's own pin OR on the pin that I tried out SEROUT2 on (I swapped the SEROUT pin and LED pin in my code). So the pin is fine because it can drive a LED, but I get no serial data out of it when used for SEROUT2 instead. Weird hey.

    Anybody know if there are any bugs with the 18F4620 and SEROUT2 ?

    I'd have thought not, but before a spend a day trying to work out why, I thought I'd ask here to save my small amount of remaining sanity.

    I also checked my OSC clock speed by measuring 500mS LED pulses on my CRO, yep it's spot on time. I also put a 18F1220 back on my test board, and yes SEROUT2 to my serial LCD works fine, so my Serial LCD is still OK.

    I need a few Panadols and a lay down,
    Martin

    The first part of my code up to just after the first SEROUT2's in included below.

    Code:
    'Config Directive settings for MPASM (fuses) for 18F4620
     
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG1H, _IESO_OFF_1H & _FCMEN_OFF_1H & _OSC_INTIO7_1H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG2L, _PWRT_ON_2L & _BOREN_OFF_2L 
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG2H, _WDT_OFF_2H & _WDTPS_32_2H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG3H, _MCLRE_OFF_3H & _PBADEN_OFF_3H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG4L, _DEBUG_OFF_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & _STVREN_OFF_4L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG5L, _CP0_OFF_5L & _CP1_OFF_5L & _CP2_OFF_5L & _CP3_OFF_5L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG5H, _CPB_OFF_5H & _CPD_OFF_5H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG6L, _WRT0_OFF_6L & _WRT1_OFF_6L & _WRT2_OFF_6L & _WRT3_OFF_6L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG6H, _WRTC_OFF_6H & _WRTB_OFF_6H & _WRTD_OFF_6H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG7L, _EBTR0_OFF_7L & _EBTR1_OFF_7L & _EBTR2_OFF_7L & _EBTR3_OFF_7L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG7H, _EBTRB_OFF_7H   
     
        DEFINE OSC 8 '8Mhz clock used.
         
    ' Define some constants if needed
            
    ' Software Defines (variables and pins)
        Cal_table   var word[11]         '11 word array to store calibration data
        lUpres      var long             'Long variable for Uncompensated Pressure
        lPres       var Long             'Long variable for Compensated Pressure
        lTemp_Var1  Var long             'Long temporary variable
        X1          var Long
        X2          var Long
        X3          var Long
        B3          var long
        B4          var long
        B5          var long
        B6          var Long
        B7          var long
        
        lAC1        var Long            'Long variables for cal values actually negative in my sensor
        lAC2        var long
        lAC3        var Long 
        lAC4        var Long 
        lMB         var Long
        lMC         var Long
    
    
        bTemp_Var1  var byte           'Byte temp variable 
        wTemp_Var1  var Word	         'Word temp variable
        wTemp_Var2  var word             'Word temp variable
        lUTemp      var long             'Uncompensated temp reading
    
        lCTemp      var Long             'Compensated temperature x10 (1/10th of C)
    '    UTemp       var word             'Uncompensated temp reading
    '    UPres       var word            'uncompensated pressure reading
        i2c_Reg     var Byte             'variable for target i2c register address
    
        CPIN        var     PortB.0       ' I2C clock pin 
        DPIN        var     PortB.1       ' I2C data pin
        SO          Var     PortD.0        'Serial out pin
        LED         var     PortA.1        'Indicator LED, via 500ohm to +3.3V
        
    'Alias's for calibration data in the sensor to match the Bosch parameter list names
        AC1     var     Cal_table[0]      '
        AC2     var     Cal_table[1]     'BMP085 has 11 16bit values stored in EEPROM
        AC3     var     Cal_table[2]     'First byte is at $AA last at $BF, two bytes per cal value
        AC4     var     Cal_table[3]     'Lowbyte is MSB (e.g $AA), Highbyte is LSB (e.g. $AB)
        AC5     var     Cal_table[4]     'some values are signed (not AC4, AC5, AC6)
        AC6     var     Cal_table[5]    
        B1      var     Cal_table[6]
        B2      var     Cal_table[7]
        MB      var     Cal_table[8]
        MC      var     Cal_table[9]    
        MD      var     Cal_table[10]    
        
    ' Initialise Processor - check for each PIC type 
    ' -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
        ADCON1 = %00001111              'Turn off all AD's     
    '    OSCCON =  %01100111     'set INTRC to 4 MHZ    
        OSCCON = %01110111     'set INTRC to 8 MHZ
    '    OSCTUNE = 0                      'OSC trim set to Null 
    
    '    Include "modedefs.bas"          ' Include serial modes    
    
    ' Set initial state of port pins as Input or Output
    
        TRISA = %11111100    'Input(0 = output, 1 = Input)
        TRISB = %11111100    '
        TRISC = %11111111
        TRISD = %11111111
        TRISE = %11111111
        
    ' PIC initialization code
            Low So      'Must start low, or you get rubbish on the LCD at PIC boot up.
            Low LED     'LED on
            pause 500  'led on for x seconds
            High LED    'LED off
            Pause 500
            Low LED     'LED on
            pause 500  'led on for x seconds
            High LED    'LED off 
                    
            Serout2 SO,16780,[$FE,$01]               ' Clear LCD & home LCD cursor.
            pause 10                                ' wait for LCD to catch up
            Serout2 SO,16780,["   FrSky Vario    "]  ' Serial print 
            Serout2 SO,16780,[$FE,$C0]               ' Shift cursor to line2
            Serout2 SO,16780,[" Development Jig  "]  ' Serial print 
            Pause 5000                               'wait three seconds
    Last edited by mr.sneezy; - 29th May 2010 at 13:10.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    429


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Might not make a difference, but try adding:

    CMCON=%00000111
    "I think fish is nice, but then I think that rain is wet, so who am I to judge?" - Douglas Adams

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,614


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi, Sneezy

    your error is here :

    Code:
     TRISE = %11111111
    see datasheet @ PORTD Chapter ( $9.4 ... I think )

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    429


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Nicely spotted Acetronics.

    Changing to TRISE=%00000111 should do the trick. (Or just remove the line altogether since %0000111 is it's power on / reset value anyway.)
    "I think fish is nice, but then I think that rain is wet, so who am I to judge?" - Douglas Adams

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    96


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    OK, I'll give that a bash shortly (when my first morning coffee has taken effect).

    In my defense though, I originally had the Serout2 working on PortA.0 and it wouldn't work there, and I did have the TRIS bits set for Outputs at that time. After all, the Serout2 code was working fine on the 18F1220 and was on PortA.0.

    After that (portA) I tried PortE.0 and PortD.0, but didn't swap the TRIS bits, that how the code was left.
    Doesn't PBP force the pin to an output anyway even if not set in the TRIS statement ?

    Talk to you soon.

  6. #6
    sinoteq's Avatar
    sinoteq Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mr.sneezy View Post
    Doesn't PBP force the pin to an output anyway even if not set in the TRIS statement ?
    Normally PBP takes care of it but you enabled Parallel Slave Port by using TRISE and a few extra "1" By doing this you kill the PortD function of the PortD port and make it to a 8 bit super special data bus and PBP have absolutly no idea.

    It is really good to make your own TRIS statements you were just a bit unlucky

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    96


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default The plot thickens....

    OK, I've spent about three hours on this now, and I have made some progress, and no, all the suggestions above didn't turn out to be the cause, I tried all the Tris changes suggested, then rem'd them all out as well.
    However I have not pin-pointed the exact problem yet... (and my caffine level has dropped to 'critical', so I must take a break)

    I stripped my code down to nothing but my configs, a LED flash and a couple of Serout2 text strings, and put the Serout2 back on PortA. Still it failed to Serout...

    Then I stripped out my configs, and unremarked the defaults in PBP's 18F4620 inc file (made changes to OSC and MCLRE to suit me). And.... Serout2 came back to life.

    I then put my configs back, and rem'd out the INC files entries. Serout2 dies (LED still flashes correctly).
    So unless I'm being tricked somehow, by me being very pedantic with my list of configs I've broken something very subtle somehow.

    Here is my configs, and the PBP defaults. If anyone knows which of my configs could hurt PBP compiler please let me know.... To try each config in turn randomly will take ages.

    Code:
    'My Config Directive settings for MPASM (fuses) for 18F4620 (that don't work with Serout2)
     
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG1H, _IESO_OFF_1H & _FCMEN_OFF_1H & _OSC_INTIO7_1H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG2L, _PWRT_ON_2L & _BOREN_OFF_2L 
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG2H, _WDT_OFF_2H & _WDTPS_32_2H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG3H, _MCLRE_OFF_3H & _PBADEN_OFF_3H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG4L, _DEBUG_OFF_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & _STVREN_OFF_4L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG5L, _CP0_OFF_5L & _CP1_OFF_5L & _CP2_OFF_5L & _CP3_OFF_5L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG5H, _CPB_OFF_5H & _CPD_OFF_5H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG6L, _WRT0_OFF_6L & _WRT1_OFF_6L & _WRT2_OFF_6L & _WRT3_OFF_6L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG6H, _WRTC_OFF_6H & _WRTB_OFF_6H & _WRTD_OFF_6H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG7L, _EBTR0_OFF_7L & _EBTR1_OFF_7L & _EBTR2_OFF_7L & _EBTR3_OFF_7L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG7H, _EBTRB_OFF_7H

    PBP's configs, that do work.
    Code:
     INCLUDE "P18F4620.INC"	; MPASM  Header
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG1H, _OSC_INTIO7_1H & _FCMEN_OFF_1H & _IESO_OFF_1H
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG2H, _WDT_ON_2H & _WDTPS_512_2H
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG3H, _CCP2MX_PORTC_3H & _PBADEN_OFF_3H & _LPT1OSC_OFF_3H 
    
    & _MCLRE_OFF_3H
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG4L,  _STVREN_ON_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & XINST_OFF_4L
    My code stripped down
    Code:
    ' -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
    'Config Directive settings for MPASM (fuses) for 18F4620
     
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG1H, _IESO_OFF_1H & _FCMEN_OFF_1H & _OSC_INTIO7_1H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG2L, _PWRT_ON_2L & _BOREN_OFF_2L 
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG2H, _WDT_OFF_2H & _WDTPS_32_2H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG3H, _MCLRE_OFF_3H & _PBADEN_OFF_3H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG4L, _DEBUG_OFF_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & _STVREN_OFF_4L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG5L, _CP0_OFF_5L & _CP1_OFF_5L & _CP2_OFF_5L & _CP3_OFF_5L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG5H, _CPB_OFF_5H & _CPD_OFF_5H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG6L, _WRT0_OFF_6L & _WRT1_OFF_6L & _WRT2_OFF_6L & _WRT3_OFF_6L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG6H, _WRTC_OFF_6H & _WRTB_OFF_6H & _WRTD_OFF_6H
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG7L, _EBTR0_OFF_7L & _EBTR1_OFF_7L & _EBTR2_OFF_7L & _EBTR3_OFF_7L
    @    __CONFIG  _CONFIG7H, _EBTRB_OFF_7H   
     
    '    DEFINE OSC 8 '8Mhz clock used.
       
        SO          Var     PortA.2        'Serial out pin
        LED         var     PortA.1        'Indicator LED, via 500ohm to +3.3V
    
        
    ' Initialise Processor - check for each PIC type 
    ' -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
    '    ADCON1 = %00001111              'Turn off all AD's     
        OSCCON =  %01100111     'set INTRC to 4 MHZ    
    '    OSCCON = %01110111     'set INTRC to 8 MHZ
    '    OSCTUNE = 0                      'OSC trim set to Null 
    ' Set initial state of port pins as Input or Output
    
    '    TRISA = %11111100    'Input(0 = output, 1 = Input)
    '    TRISB = %11111100    '
    '    TRISC = %11111111
    '    TRISD = %11111110
    '    TRISE = %11111111
        
    ' PIC initialization code
    '        Low So      'Must start low, or you get rubbish on the LCD at PIC boot up.
    '        Gosub Alive
            Low LED     'LED on
            pause 500  'led on for x seconds
            High LED    'LED off
            Pause 500
            Low LED     'LED on
            pause 500  'led on for x seconds
            High LED    'LED off 
                    
            Serout2 SO,16780,[$FE,$01]               ' Clear LCD & home LCD cursor.
            pause 10                                ' wait for LCD to catch up
            Serout2 SO,16780,["   FrSky Vario    "]  ' Serial print 
            Serout2 SO,16780,[$FE,$C0]               ' Shift cursor to line2
            Serout2 SO,16780,[" Development Jig  "]  ' Serial print 
            Pause 5000                               'wait three seconds        
            
    End
    Last edited by mr.sneezy; - 30th May 2010 at 06:59.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    429


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If the default configs work, is there any reason you cant just use them? If there are any configs that you definitely need to change from default, then simply change them one at a time so you know if one of them breaks it.
    "I think fish is nice, but then I think that rain is wet, so who am I to judge?" - Douglas Adams

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    96


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I like to know whats going on, so I did it the hard way...

    This config line kills Serout2 functionality.
    @ __CONFIG _CONFIG4L, _DEBUG_OFF_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & _STVREN_OFF_4L

    This line restores it.
    @ __CONFIG _CONFIG4L, _STVREN_ON_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & _XINST_OFF_4L

    Drilling down to individual config parameters, if I add this one to my original list Serout2 works again.
    & _XINST_OFF_4L

    The datasheet refers to this as an Extended Instruction set enabling bit. I read a bit about it, and it's use is way beyond my comprehension.

    What the ?
    And why does it just break the Serout2 command and not everything else in PBP too ?

    It's days like these I really wonder why we bothered coming out of caves and inverting the wheel anyway, it would have been much less pain just staying in a nice warm cave

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,614


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi, Sneezy

    Here's the reason ...

    PBP defaults :
    INCLUDE "P18F4520.INC" ; MPASM Header
    ;__CONFIG _CONFIG1H, _OSC_HS_1H & _FCMEN_OFF_1H & _IESO_OFF_1H
    ;__CONFIG _CONFIG2H, _WDT_ON_2H & _WDTPS_512_2H
    ;__CONFIG _CONFIG3H, _CCP2MX_PORTC_3H & _PBADEN_OFF_3H & _LPT1OSC_OFF_3H & _MCLRE_ON_3H
    ;__CONFIG _CONFIG4L, _STVREN_ON_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & _XINST_OFF_4L
    so, "PBP" is supposed to clear this config bit ... but you remmed those lines :

    BUT ...

    MPASM defaults it to OFF ...

    Sooooo, What happend ??? how did it turn on by itself ???

    Conclusion ... do not forget to explicitly turn OFF XTINST in your config.

    Further explanations can be found in Datasheet $24 ( a bit over my own head ...I admit ! )


    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    96


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Alain,
    BTW, do you think I've just had a run of strangely bad luck with my programming, or does it come this hard for you too ?

    (By bad luck I mean the fact that this config only broke Serout2 in my code but apparently nothing else)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,614


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mr.sneezy View Post
    BTW, do you think I've just had a run of strangely bad luck with my programming, or does it come this hard for you too ?

    (By bad luck I mean the fact that this config only broke Serout2 in my code but apparently nothing else)
    ...
    The existence of extra-terrestrians hasn't been proved nor denied ...

    SO, ... I do believe you were unlucky, trying desesperatly some " uncontrolled " receipes

    Sometimes I have surprises too ... just remember what to do not to have to face it again ...


    BUT I never could explain I dreamed of situations that I faced several years LATER ...
    There are still great mysteries in our lives ...

    And I do think it's much better like that !!!

    Seriously ... someone like Darrel, who learnt the internals of PBP, maybe could explain what happens when XTENDED commands are enabled.

    I Personnaly do not have time to, and my Pics use being Hobby dedicated ... I prefer learning other things ... or build toys for my Daughters.

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    PBP places all of its system variables in ACCESS RAM on the 18F type. When you have the extended instruction set enabled, this changes how all PBP system variables in the range of 00h to 5Fh in ACCESS RAM are accessed.

    With extended instruction set enabled, FSR2 is used as the pointer to an area in RAM, and the address embedded in the instruction itself, that is trying to write to ACCESS RAM from 00h to 5Fh, is the literal "offset" into the RAM area pointed to by the value in FSR2.

    So ACCESS RAM from 00h to 5Fh is no longer directly accessible without using FSR2 as the base address pointer.

    Example:

    Say a PBP system variable R1 is in ACCESS RAM at location 2. Now say FSR2 has a value of 2. When PBP tries to directly load a value into R1, it actually gets placed in location 4. This happens because location 2 which would be the DIRECT address to R1 in ACCESS RAM is used as the literal "offset" and added to the value in FSR2 to get the final RAM address.

    Just clearing FSR2 somewhere in your program just isn't going to work. Several PBP library routines and a TON of PBP macros use FSR2.

    Also - it's a good idea to keep the _XINST_OFF_4L config option in there.

    All config options are just numbers that get ANDed together by the assembler. If you leave one out, like _XINST_OFF_4L, which includes a value of BFh that gets ANDed with other config options for CONFIG4L, you end up with _XINST_ON_4L by default.

    Here's an example;

    These are pre-defined CONFIG4L options in your P18F4620.INC file.
    Code:
     
    ;----- CONFIG4L Options --------------------------------------------------
    _STVREN_OFF_4L  EQU H'FE' ; Disabled
    _STVREN_ON_4L   EQU H'FF' ; Enabled
    _LVP_OFF_4L     EQU H'FB' ; Disabled
    _LVP_ON_4L      EQU H'FF' ; Enabled
    _XINST_OFF_4L   EQU H'BF' ; Disabled
    _XINST_ON_4L    EQU H'FF' ; Enabled
    _DEBUG_ON_4L    EQU H'7F' ; Enabled
    _DEBUG_OFF_4L   EQU H'FF' ; Disabled
    Note that XINST is bit # 6 in CONFIG4L. A value of 1 in bit position # 6 = enabled.

    Take any value "ON or OFF" above for STVREN, LVP, and DEBUG. AND them together, then look at the result. The value you end up with after ANDing any 3 options is the value that gets placed in CONFIG4L.

    Leaving XINST "on or off" out leaves bit # 6 set, and extended instruction mode enabled.

    The same goes for all other config registers. If you leave one option out, you may not be getting all config settings like you might expect - due to the AND result of all the ones you 'did' include.
    Last edited by Bruce; - 30th May 2010 at 20:32.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    96


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Much appreciated, as it is a full answer to the question.

    To reiterate though for my benefit, and maybe others at my low level of understanding.

    If I use assembly style configs, either in my code or the PBP PIC.inc defaults, if I need to use a non PIC default config setting I should also add all other config values associated with that particular register, to make sure they don't get changed from what I expect ?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yes. It's a good idea to include all config options.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts