dumb question


Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 94

Thread: dumb question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56

    Default dumb question

    Hi guys,
    Im working on a project and have a very dumb question:
    Can a eeprom be programed to store data from an F2F decoder?So in the schematic will be only F2F decoder and eeprom?And data will be downloaded from there in a second time using another software?
    Last edited by osceola; - 16th August 2009 at 12:38.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    An EEPROM has no intelligence - it cannot act on it's own.

    An F2F Decoder has no intelligence - it cannot act on it's own.

    Yes, an EEPROM can store the Data from your F2F Decoder, but you need some controlling intelligence to accomplish the task. So you need (typically) a microprocessor (eg a PIC) somewhere in the equation.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you Melanie for your answer,very kind of you.Another question then,can you program an eeprom to do that and exclude the pic from ecuation or not?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Like Melanie said.
    An EEPROM can not act on it's own. You need something to give it instructions. It is just a storage device. Like a hard drive. Alone it is not much good.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    ok,thank you,got it now.witch will be the best 512kb EEPROM to use?24C512 or 24LC512?whats the diference between these 2?and also witch will be the 8pin based best PIC to use?12F675 or 12F683?Or you recomend something else?Thank you
    Last edited by osceola; - 16th August 2009 at 18:42.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    You must chose a PIC with enough pins for your F2F devices, two pins for the EEPROM (C or LC still require two lines regardless which one you chose), and however many additional pins for external communications or other connections. Remember one of the pins on the 12F675/683 is INPUT ONLY that leaves five I/O's. If you are going to use Serial Communications (like RS232) then you WILL need a Crystal or Resonator, that will use up two pins, and three I/O's may then be insufficient for your needs.

    As regarding EEPROMS... the 'C' device is a plain SERIAL device requiring something like SHIFTIN/SHIFTOUT usage, whereas the 'LC' is an I2C BUS device requiring I2CWRITE/I2CREAD usage.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you Melanie for your answer I got it now.Where can I find a schematic or something to test that,or who could give me an advice on how to built this?
    Last edited by osceola; - 16th August 2009 at 22:11.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    No one wants to help me?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Which way do you want to go?

    If you go with the I2C method then take a look at the PBP manual. There is enough information there to get you started.

    The section in the manual about shiftin/out along with a data sheet will also get you started in that direction.

    Let us know the parts you plan on using.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well,first I need a schematic,and I also would like to know if the F2F decoding can be done inside a PIC(16f628, 16f84 etc.) to make it as simply is posibile.So,can the F2F decoding be done inside a pic and witch series of EEPROM to use for that,24C512 or 24LC512?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Could anyone provide me a schematic of this or help me find it?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Have you read the data sheet for the F2F part you plan to use?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Not yet,Im looking around to see if is on the market a PIC with F2F built in,soon as I decide I contact you

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    Have you read the data sheet for the F2F part you plan to use?
    yes ,I have read the data sheet and have some schematic too,just that comes with an lcd and need to make it moore simple,keep the existing components and remove the lcd components.any help?I will PM you the schematic.thank you

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Post everything on the forum. That way anyone can help or benifit.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I have find this schematic for read magnetic data for the magnetic heads witch have built in F2F decoder,just need to make it moore simple,without LCD display: http://www.camelspit.org/handyswipe/ Could anyone help?My electronic knowledge is bad,any help would be apreciate.Thanks

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you Melanie,is any schematic on this link with eeprom memory and serial interface or could somebody help me to design a schematic?
    Last edited by osceola; - 18th August 2009 at 19:49.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The data sheet for the eeprom you plan to use should have a schematic showing how it is to be connected.

    Have you picked an eeprom yet?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    No,I havet picked an EEPROM yet because I dont know witch one to order-C or LC series,witch is best or witch one you think may be good for serial comunication?And there at the source code that Melanie posted,is any diference betveen PIC16F628-04/SO , PIC16F628-04/SP or PIC16F628-04I/S?Dont find the PIC16F628-04/SP and dont know witch one to order.
    Last edited by osceola; - 19th August 2009 at 00:05.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Melanie already answered this...
    Quote Originally Posted by Melanie View Post
    As regarding EEPROMS... the 'C' device is a plain SERIAL device requiring something like SHIFTIN/SHIFTOUT usage, whereas the 'LC' is an I2C BUS device requiring I2CWRITE/I2CREAD usage.
    Look at the last few pages of the PIC's data sheet. The info you seek is there
    a differance in package, some like surface, some like dips.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    So can I order any of these PICs mentioned?And I will look what EEPROM I can find.Interfacing PIC with EEPROM and in the schematic need also some resistors and capacitors?witch one and how many?Thanks

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    EEPROM Schematic Information and example code is contained in your MeLabs PBP Manual that came with your PICBasic compiler.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Just curious...
    Is this your first project?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I ordered the Pic Kit 2 already,have to get it this days,and yes,this is my first project and any help from you will be apreciated,so sory if sometime(or always?) I make some dumb questions

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Do not worry about the questions. Everyone has to get started.
    Now do not take this the wrong way, but this project might be a little advanced for a first project. Like anything else, you need to work your way up.

    When you order the PIC make sure it is a DIP package. That way it can be plugged into a breadboard. The same goes for the EEPROM.

    When the PICKIT comes let's work on a simple what we call "blinkey". That is a program that will simply blink a LED at a given rate. What this will do is make sure you understand how to set everything up. Then we can move on to more advanced things.

    In the mean time. Read everything you can on this forum. Study the data sheets for the parts you plan to use.

    In no time this project will be up and running and you will understand what is going on.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ok,thank you,I will do that

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,I got yhe PICKIT2 package,where I start from?I buy 2 PIC16F628 but when I read them says ALL PROTECT ,I erase them and when I verify says Program Memory is not blank starting at address 0x0000.Am I doing something wrong?

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    In the PicKit2 software under "tools" there is a enable code protect option. Un-check that. Or if you have code protect in the configs turn it off there.

    With the code protect off, an erase and blank check should return "Device is Blank".
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well,I did exactly as you say but still same results.What else should I do?Strange,because I have this problem with PIC16F628 only,the PIC16F690 witch come with the PICKIT2 read it as a blank device.Same thing with the EEPROM too.I read it ,erase it and at blank check says EEPROM is not blank starting at address 0x000000
    Last edited by osceola; - 22nd August 2009 at 14:38.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ok,I figure it out at the end,what we start with?

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    A couple of questions to make sure we are both looking at the same things.

    What are you going to be using for the OSC?
    Is the chip a 628 or 628A?
    You have Micro Code Studio installed?
    Some LEDs and 220 or 470 or something in that range resitors?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well,at this point we have to wait a few days,just ordered a breadboard witch has to come,some LEDs I have,Micro I have,rezistors I dont have yet.The chip is 628.Another "dumb" question--at witch pins you put the EEPROM into the PICKIT2 programer to read data from it?Another thing,I am using Vista and linux,but I installed the PICKIT2 package in Vista--will it work?Thanks
    Last edited by osceola; - 22nd August 2009 at 19:44.

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    What!?! No resistors? That is like coming to class with out a pencil.

    Vista is ok.

    Do you mean the EEPROM that is built into the PIC. Use the same connection as you have when programmng
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Did you get a demo board with the PicKit? The one with LEDs and buttons and ...
    If you did you can start playing now. The 628 can happen later.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I have the board,then,Im ready to play!
    Last edited by osceola; - 22nd August 2009 at 21:00.

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    What!?! No resistors? That is like coming to class with out a pencil.

    Vista is ok.

    Do you mean the EEPROM that is built into the PIC. Use the same connection as you have when programmng
    No,not the EEPROM that is built into the PIC,a normal EEPROM,24LC512,and I havent find any datasheets to look at how you have to connect the EEPROM to the PICKIT2 board

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Lets worry about the eeprom a bit later.

    I want you to read this
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=543
    We will be setting the fuses in your code, in the long run this seems to be the best way. Later when you go back to a program you will not have to remember how you had them set.

    Now I am going to assume you have the low pin count board with the 16F690 on it?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yes,PIC16F690.Im reading.....
    Last edited by osceola; - 23rd August 2009 at 00:02.

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=543
    So basicly if Im using MPLAB IDE and MPASM as assembler this tools will be located in the MPLAB IDE folder under the aplication Maestro?

Similar Threads

  1. AN Question for "word" variable read The serial port
    By redfoen in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 14th December 2007, 17:39
  2. really simple, dumb question
    By picster in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 3rd March 2007, 22:02
  3. Question for a math guru
    By Christopher4187 in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 22nd November 2006, 09:45
  4. Please answer my first question
    By John_001 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 15th September 2006, 06:49
  5. Dumb question
    By Christopher4187 in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 20th June 2006, 12:02

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts