pic24 beginner

Closed Thread

Thread: pic24 beginner

Default pic24 beginner

Hi,

I'm very sorry to be putting a post that is way under the expectations of questions that seem to be posted on this forum, however i just need basic help with starting up. I've never programmed before, and someone referred me to using PIC BASIC pro (the pro version because for what i will be doing in the near future will require some of the extra functions).

It's also quite likely that I will be using a pic24, i was going to buy the book "PIC Microcontroller Project Book : For PIC Basic and PIC Basic Pro Compliers" to help me get started and to learn. I was wondering if this was a good basis to learn on? And would it be helpful to learn to program the pic24 series of microcomputer? Also the probably dumbest question, when coding using the PIC BASIC pro is there any big differences for what pic you are specifically using and if so are there enough resources for the pic24?

Sorry again for a boring post, but any help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards

Robert

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Welcome! Do not worry about boring post and such. We all started the same way. Well, maybe Melanie did not but...

I do not think PBP supports the PIC24. http://www.melabs.com/products/pbp.htm
    what are you planning? I am sure there is one that will work.

As far as learning to program. Personally I am against the books. Seems every one that has used a book still comes here with basic questions. So use the examples on MeLabs web site and read this forum. Ask all of the questions you want/need.

The basic commands are the same for all of the chips PBP supports. Pretty much each PIC has it's own setup but many are close to the same. I am taking about the configs, analog and such.

You will probably end up with a handfull of PICs that you use the most so you will become comfortable with those. Need a new PIC and have trouble with it? Ask.