Programming Problem PIC12F683


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Default Programming Problem PIC12F683

    Hello all,

    I have PBP 2.45. I am unable to program the PIC12F683. I get the error:

    "Device does not match selected device."
    1. I'm using the old serial programmer.
    2. The programmer programs other PICs ok.
    3. The ZIF socket is plugged in correctly.
    4. The PIC is in the socket correctly.
    5. The power to the programmer is good.
    6. The cable is plugged in.

    I found the patch "Software patch for PICBASIC PRO™ version 2.45" which is supposed to fix errors when compiling for PIC12F683, 16F684, 16F688, 16F716, 16F737, 16F747, 16F767, 16F777, 16F87, 16F88 " but it will not install. I've never tried to patch anything before.

    Any ideas?

    ~ Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    271


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    this is usually a problem with the programmer or your hardware (i.e. pic on the pcb and connection to programmer), and has nothing to do with your compiler. Make sure if you are using any of the programming pins as i/o that they do not put any load on the programmer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Which ZIF adapter are you using?
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    Which ZIF adapter are you using?
    Bruce,

    I'm using the 8-40 ZIF adapter. On the under side of the adapter on the board it says 03221 JMS. The cable from the programmer is plugged into the 8-18 connector and pin number 1 on the IC is lined up with Pin 1: 8-18.

    ~ Dave

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Sounds like you have it connected right. If you have a 2nd 12F683 to test, and that one
    won't program either, I would contact MeLabs support directly.

    The only problems I'm aware of on the older 840Z 03221 ZIF adapter series were for 18F
    parts which required a modification for AVdd connections to pin #7.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    271


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    One other thing to check... if you've already programmed the chip once. Make sure your programmer is set to high voltage programming.

  7. #7


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Problem solved. I downloaded Beta Software for EPIC™ Programmer, including the update for the firmware and the programmer works great now. On the download page, there is the following statement "It does not support the advanced command-line switches of the paid upgrade." I don't know what that means for me.

    ~ Dave

  8. #8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Understanding TRISIO

    I'm trying to understand how the below statement makes GP3 an input. I understand that a 1 will make it an input, but how does that 1 digit relate to GP3? Perhaps this is an error and it actually makes GP4 an input?

    Copied from elsewhere on this forum:
    Code:
    TRISIO = %00010000 'GP3 as input
    ~ Dave
    Last edited by StoneColdFuzzy; - 2nd June 2009 at 21:15.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    GPIO.3 is an input only, it just can't be configured as an output. Check your datasheet under TRISIO register, you'll discover that BIT3 is a read only bit... so whatever value you put there... it will always be set as an input.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  10. #10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e View Post
    GPIO.3 is an input only, it just can't be configured as an output. Check your datasheet under TRISIO register, you'll discover that BIT3 is a read only bit... so whatever value you put there... it will always be set as an input.
    I understand that. What I don't understand is how the digits in the positions that they are in relate to their respective pins.

    ~ Dave

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    i'm not sure to follow you then... let's see if the following lines could give you some lights
    Code:
    'GPIO Bits 76543210
    TRISIO  = %00001010
            '  xx------- Not implemented, don't care
            '  --0------ GP5 = output
            '  ---0----- GP4 = Output
            '  ----1---- GP3 = Input, Read only bit, input only, regardless to what you write here       
            '  -----0--- GP2 = Output
            '  ------1-- GP1 = input
            '  -------0- GP0 = Output
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  12. #12


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    OK, now I get it; I have to look at the table in the data sheet. I had copied that code from the following string:

    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...ight=pic12f683

    So, I was correct that TRISIO = %00010000 makes GP4 an input.

    ~ Dave

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yup GP4 AND GP3
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  14. #14


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you very much!

    ~ Dave

Similar Threads

  1. 16F676 programming problem
    By Christopher4187 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 18th May 2009, 17:39
  2. PIC18F4620 Programming problem
    By JavPar in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 6th December 2008, 04:21
  3. RFID medicine teller!! problem with programming
    By sknee8787 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: - 18th November 2008, 17:31
  4. Programming Problem with PIC16F819
    By Dick Ivers in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 24th July 2007, 18:42
  5. Problem programming the PIC16F648A
    By Edgardo_2 in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 29th December 2006, 00:02

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts