xport code, have example, confused though


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    46

    Default xport code, have example, confused though

    Hi everyone. so I'm excited to get the xport direct up and running and I see some of you here have used it.

    I got the following code from : http://www.tigoe.net/pcomp/code/cate...basic%20Pro/35
    but I'm unsure of how to use it. (can a 16f628 run the xport? it can right? it's just serial communication...)

    my understanding thus far is

    1. I need to use a terminal such as windows hyperterminal to set it up (can this instead be done via pbp?

    2. hook up and run code.

    I'm unsure of an exact hook up but I'm sure the manual will tell me, but I've tried to first compile the example code and get LOTS of errors...

    not sure why, are there includes or other things I should be doing to get this code to compile? I'm using microcode studio and pbp 2.45

    Thanks for any and all help!


    Code:
    The relevant Xport settings for this application are as follows:
    
    *** Channel 1
    Baudrate 9600, I/F Mode 4C, Flow 00
    Port 10001
    Remote IP Adr: --- none ---, Port 00000
    Connect Mode : D4
    Disconn Mode : 00
    Flush   Mode : 00
    
    *** Expert
    TCP Keepalive    : 45s
    ARP cache timeout: 600s
    High CPU performance: disabled
    Monitor Mode @ bootup : enabled
    HTTP Port Number : 80
    SMTP Port Number : 25
    
    The code:
    
    ' Xport_to_SQL
    '    Microcontroller is connected to a Lantronix Xport
    '    serial-to-ethernet device. This program connects
    '    to a HTTP server through the Xport, makes a HTTP GET
    '    request for a PHP script, and sends the value
    '    of an analog sensor through as a part of the
    '    GET request.
    
    '    Xport communicates at 9600-8-n-1 non-inverted (true) serial.
    
    '    By Tom Igoe, 31 oct 2005
    '    updated 25 Oct. 2005
    
     ' Define ADCIN parameters
    DEFINE  ADC_BITS        10     ' Set number of bits in result
    DEFINE  ADC_CLOCK       3         ' Set clock source (3=rc)
    DEFINE  ADC_SAMPLEUS    50        ' Set sampling time in uS
    
    '   pins to define serial RZX and TX
    tx var portc.6
    rx var portc.7
    '   pins with LEDs to indicate whether we're connecting
    '   or sending an HTTP request:
    httpPin var portb.7
    TCPPin var portb.6
    output TCPPin
    output httpPin
    
    ' constant to set the baud rate:
    inv9600 con 16468
    '   for non-inverted connections (PIC to Xport direct):
    true9600 con 84
    
    ' define variables:
    adcVar var word
    inByte var byte
    connected var bit
    
    TRISA = %11111111       ' Set PORTA to all input
    ADCON1 = %10000010      ' Set PORTA analog and right justify result
    
    connected = 0
    
    ' pause to let Xport boot up:
    pause 2000
     main:
      ' if you're connected to the server, then
      ' make a HTTP call.  If not, then connect
      ' to the server:
      if connected = 1 then
      ' read sensors, convert to bytes:
          adcin 0, adcVar
          ' send HTTP GET request for php script:
        gosub http_request
      else
        ' attempt to connect to the server:
        gosub xport_connect
      endif
      tcpPin = connected
      ' pause so we're not overwhelming the server:
      pause 3000
    goto main
    
    xport_connect:
        ' turn off LED to indicate HTTP GET is in progress:
        'low tcpPin
        '   wait for a "C" byte to come back:
        while inByte <> 67
            serout2 tx, true9600, ["C128.122.253.189/80", 10]
            serin2 rx, true9600, [inByte]
        wend
        ' turn on TCP pin to indicate that we connected:
        'high TCPPin
        connected = 1
    return
    
    http_request:
        ' light LED to indicate HTTP GET request in progress:
        high httpPin
        SEROUT2 TX, true9600, ["GET /~tqi6023/sql_datalog.php?action=insert&"]
        serout2 tx, true9600, ["sensorValue=", DEC adcVar]
        serout2 tx, true9600, [" HTTP/1.1", 10]
        serout2 tx, true9600, ["HOST: itp.nyu.edu", 10, 10]
        ' wait for bytes from server:
        ' php script sends a 0 to end transmission:
        while inByte <> 0
            serin2 rx, true9600, [inByte]
        wend
        ' now we're disconnected:
        connected = 0
        ' turn off LED, since GET request is complete:
        low httpPin
    return

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Kenpo,
    I do not think 628 is going to do it, no ADC.
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    46


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    sorry, please ignore the ADC code he has in there then.
    I have no plans of using ADC.

    for now I simply want to send an integer number to an online script.

    just a test.
    I didn't want to edit his code and risk removing soemthing I shouldn't so it's just a copy/paste

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    46


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    ok, so here's my modified version:

    untested, but compiles.

    what I am unsure of:
    1. how to set the xport with all the funky terminal settings and if it can be done via pbp

    2. right now his code waits for a 0 return.
    I'd like to receive more than that. ie, the number 55 and then do something like turn a pin HIGH. I'm unsure of how to do that though without breaking it. ie, it's waiting for a 0 return..

    sorry for those of you that breath code, this must seem very silly

    Code:
    include "modedefs.bas"
    
    @ DEVICE pic16F628A, INTRC_OSC_NOCLKOUT
    ' System Clock Options 
    
    @ DEVICE pic16F628A, MCLR_OFF
    ' Master Clear Options (Internal)
      DEFINE OSC 4
      CMCON = 7		
    
    
    
    
    '   pins to define serial RZX and TX
    tx var portA.6
    rx var portA.7
    '   pins with LEDs to indicate whether we're connecting
    '   or sending an HTTP request:
    httpPin var portb.7
    TCPPin var portb.6
    output TCPPin
    output httpPin
    
    ' constant to set the baud rate:
    inv9600 con 16468
    '   for non-inverted connections (PIC to Xport direct):
    true9600 con 84
    
    ' define variables:
    adcVar var word
    inByte var byte
    connected var bit
    
    connected = 0
    
    ' pause to let Xport boot up:
    pause 2000
     main:
      ' if you're connected to the server, then
      ' make a HTTP call.  If not, then connect
      ' to the server:
      if connected = 1 then
      ' read sensors, convert to bytes:
          adcVar = 55
          ' send HTTP GET request for php script:
        gosub http_request
      else
        ' attempt to connect to the server:
        gosub xport_connect
      endif
      tcpPin = connected
      ' pause so we're not overwhelming the server:
      pause 3000
    goto main
    
    xport_connect:
        ' turn off LED to indicate HTTP GET is in progress:
        'low tcpPin
        '   wait for a "C" byte to come back:
        while inByte <> 67
            serout2 tx, true9600, ["C128.122.253.189/80", 10]
            serin2 rx, true9600, [inByte]
        wend
        ' turn on TCP pin to indicate that we connected:
        'high TCPPin
        connected = 1
    return
    
    http_request:
    adcVar = 56
        ' light LED to indicate HTTP GET request in progress:
        high httpPin
        SEROUT2 TX, true9600, ["GET /xport_test.php?action=insert&"]
        serout2 tx, true9600, ["sensorValue=", DEC adcVar]
        serout2 tx, true9600, [" HTTP/1.1", 10]
        serout2 tx, true9600, ["HOST: brandejs.ca", 10, 10]
        ' wait for bytes from server:
        ' php script sends a 0 to end transmission:
        while inByte <> 0
            serin2 rx, true9600, [inByte]
        wend
        ' now we're disconnected:
        connected = 0
        ' turn off LED, since GET request is complete:
        low httpPin
    return

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    46


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    look at me, spamming my own post...

    just wondering, could I do soemthing like change

    Code:
    while inByte <> 0
            serin2 rx, true9600, [inByte]
        wend
    to

    Code:
    while inByte == z
            serin2 rx, true9600, [inByte]
        wend
    that way I set inByte earlier on as 'z' and then it hangs down below until I get the number 55, or 3 or 0.

    I'm imagining grabbing the weather value in degrees off the net for example

    (and having my php script only output an integer value, not the extra html filler)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Forget SERIN/SEROUT @ 9600 baud @4MHZ... even worst when dealing with the internal OSC. That PIC have a USART, use it + ceramic resonator + crystal for more reliable results.

    You could try DEBUG/DEBUGIN... but there's no advantages over HSERIN/HSEROUT appart the possibility to use Inverted mode.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    46


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    that's just what I was thinking here as I was editing the code.
    I looked up the manual for the xport so I can now see there's terminal options for setting it up, as well as their software and I can change 9600 to 2400

    however I don't really see if it's possible to do all that from the pic. it seems it only needs to be done once? is that right?

    I think the 16f628a internal OSC with 2400 should be reliable enough right?
    it's a hobby project. I could take it even lower though there's not alot of data being sent.


    the last function is now changed to

    Code:
    http_request:
    adcVar = 56
        ' light LED to indicate HTTP GET request in progress:
        high httpPin
        inByte = "z"
        
        SEROUT2 TX, T2400, ["GET /xport_test.php?action=insert&"]
        serout2 tx, T2400, ["sensorValue=", DEC adcVar]
        serout2 tx, T2400, [" HTTP/1.1", 10]
        serout2 tx, T2400, ["HOST: brandejs.ca", 10, 10]
        ' wait for bytes from server:
        ' php script sends anything other than Z to end transmission:
        while inByte == "z"
            serin2 rx, T2400, [DEC inByte]
        wend
        ' now we're disconnected:
        connected = 0
        ' turn off LED, since GET request is complete:
        low httpPin
    return
    Last edited by kenpo; - 19th February 2009 at 21:53.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    You're using True mode... why messing with bit banged SERIN/SERIN2/DEBUGIN while your PIC have built-in USART???? No advantage at all, and use more codespace as well...

    HSERIN/HSEROUT and away you go.

    I NEVER use internal OSC when I have to deal with async serial communication. OK OK I hear some "I did it, I still do it and it works all the time" .. well ... good for you
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    46


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    never used USART so I'm not really sure what you're talking about. I don't mind switching, but first I want to get this code working, as it should work as it's not my code. then I can start really changing it.

    am I using "z" correctly?

    it's been so long since I've dealt with picbasic. I've been coding in flash/php for the last 1.5 years.
    trying to remember pbp code usage....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Campbell, CA
    Posts
    1,107


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I'm with mister_e -

    ALWAYS use the hardware USART if your PIC has one!
    Use a crystal when you use RS-232.

    The default baud rate of an XPORT is 9600 baud.
    The XPORT is a 3.3V device. Are you running it off 3.3V?

    You should use a level shifter (like a 74HC gate) between the XPORTs output and the PICs input to insure that the output level of the XPORT is high enough for the PIC. In a pinch, you can use a 1K pull up resistor (to 5V) on the line connecting the ouput of the XPORT to the PICs input. Since the XPORT is 5V compliant, you don't need to do anything with the line connecting the output of the PIC to the XPORT.
    Charles Linquist

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    46


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    haven't hooked it up yet, so currently running at 0v

    not sure how to run something at 3.3v is there something like a 7805?


    and still no idea what USART is so I guess I'll do some reading.

    xport defualt is 9600, but it can be brought down.

    I'm excited to try this thing out, but I'm waiting for a breadboard compatible breakout board before I try it, rather than rush in and break something my first try.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    To run at 3.3 volt, yup you'll need a 3.3v voltage regulator. Now double check your specific datasheet to know if the PIC can run @3.3 volt without problem, case not, you may need to use a sort of level shifter between your PIC running @5volt and the Xport running @3.3v.

    USART is just another built-in PIC feature, listed in the datasheet. You will need to use HSERIN/HSEROUT + some DEFINEs all listed in the PBP manual.

    with 4MHz you can run the internal USART to have a really decent/accurate 9600 bauds.
    Code:
    DEFINE HSER_RCSTA 90h ' Enable serial port & continuous receive
    DEFINE HSER_TXSTA 24h ' Enable transmit, BRGH = 1
    DEFINE HSER_SPBRG 25  ' 9600 Baud @ 4MHz, 0.16%
    DEFINE HSER_CLROERR 1 ' Clear overflow automatically
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Campbell, CA
    Posts
    1,107


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    You can get a 3.3V regulator. I use an LM3940
    You obviously haven't read section 12 of the 16F628 datasheet - where it describes the USART!
    There is no need to run the XPORT at a speed slower than 9600 baud.
    Charles Linquist

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    46


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    thanks everyone! I'm going to muck around with all of this now!

  15. #15
    safa913's Avatar
    safa913 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question hello

    i have xport direct plus and i use 16f877a pic
    can i use the same code ?

Similar Threads

  1. Reading in Manchester code
    By brid0030 in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 10th March 2009, 21:55
  2. How much code space do PBP statements use.
    By Darrel Taylor in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 13th February 2009, 21:31
  3. Loop with two motor and 2 sensors
    By MrRoboto in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 8th December 2008, 23:40
  4. Making Program Code Space your playground...
    By Melanie in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 19th July 2008, 08:26
  5. Re-Writing IF-THEN-AND-ENDIF code?
    By jessey in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 18th August 2006, 17:23

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts