ICD & PBP && how to get it to work


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 27 of 27

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default ICD & PBP && how to get it to work

    if this has been thrashed a bit already forgive the redundancy. my dev partner and I are having a bit of a time of getting the ICD to work.

    we have a pic18 series->level converter->computer comm port->PCP

    we then compile for ICD ops, ICD run, then bring up the serial communicator and viola, nothing is displayed. the program is a very very simple, short one using "hserout' and 'hserin" in a loop.

    so, are we making this ICD too complicated or what?

    tia

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default WHICH CHIP and Version MCS are you using ?

    The text below is copy / pasted from the Microcode Studio Plus help file, if you are not using the plus version it only supports one chip:<br><b>
    MicroCode Studio uses an ICD Model in order to initialise and control the operation of the ICD for a given PIC microcontroller.

    MicroCode Studio Plus

    The ICD for MicroCode Studio Plus supports the following PIC microcontroller devices.

    16F627(A), 16F628(A), 16F73, 16F74, 16F76, 16F77, 16F870, 16F871, 16F873(A), 16F874(A), 16F876(A), 16F877(A), 16F87, 16F88, 18F242, 18F248, 18F252, 18F258, 18F442, 18F448, 18F452, 18F458, 18F1220, 18F1320, 18F2220, 18F2320, 18F4220, 18F4320, 18F6620, 18F6720*, 18F8620 and 18F8720*

    * Please note that for these devices, the ICD will only support the first 64K of your program.

    MicroCode Studio

    The ICD for MicroCode Studio supports the following PIC microcontroller devices.

    16F628

    Please note that the ICD is not enabled if using the demonstration PICBasic PRO compiler. If you would like to purchase MicroCode Studio Plus, please read How to Purchase MicroCode Studio Plus.
    Last edited by Archangel; - 3rd March 2009 at 00:18.
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    17


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    pic = 18f252 I/SP
    MCS+ = 3.0.0.5
    PCP = 2.46

    should be supported, yes?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archendekta View Post
    pic = 18f252 I/SP
    MCS+ = 3.0.0.5
    PCP = 2.46

    should be supported, yes?
    PBP YES from ver 2.40
    MCS+ YES
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    compile for ICD ops, ICD run, then bring up the serial communicator
    If you're using MCS+ ICD, then you should not be trying to use the standard serial
    communicator in MCS+.

    Inside the ICD window HSEROUT will display whatever you send in the lower section of
    the ICD window. When it lands on an HSEROUT while running the ICD, and small serial
    ICD terminal window will automatically pop-up asking for input.

    Code:
    DEFINE LOADER_USED 1 ' using MCS+ bootloader
    DEFINE OSC 20 ' <-- DEFINE your OSC speed. gotta have this for MCS ICD.
    
    MyVar VAR BYTE
    
    Loop2:
          HSERIN [MyVar] ' <-- window pops-up waiting for input
          HSEROUT ["MyVar = ",DEC MyVar,13,10] '<-- displays input
          PAUSE 500
          GOTO Loop2
    I've attached a screen capture of the above running in MCS+ ICD. Tested on an
    18F4431.

    If you still have trouble try blinking an LED with the ICD just to make sure you have
    everything setup properly.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    17


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    got it. thanks.

    also looked at this that helped ;-)

    http://www.rentron.com/PicBasic/MCS_X3.htm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    378


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Can't get Variables to appear in MCS+ ICD project

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    I've attached a screen capture of the above running in MCS+ ICD. Tested on an
    18F4431.

    If you still have trouble try blinking an LED with the ICD just to make sure you have
    everything setup properly.
    Bruce,
    I have my program running so I can monitor it line-by-line with the MCS+ ICD. However, in the ICD Project Window I only see Registers, Memory and EEPROM.....no Variables are shown. How do I get them to appear so I can see how they are changing during the ICD??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Republic Serbia
    Posts
    105


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    If you're using MCS+ ICD, then you should not be trying to use the standard serial
    communicator in MCS+.

    Inside the ICD window HSEROUT will display whatever you send in the lower section of
    the ICD window. When it lands on an HSEROUT while running the ICD, and small serial
    ICD terminal window will automatically pop-up asking for input.

    Code:
    DEFINE LOADER_USED 1 ' using MCS+ bootloader
    DEFINE OSC 20 ' <-- DEFINE your OSC speed. gotta have this for MCS ICD.
    
    MyVar VAR BYTE
    
    Loop2:
          HSERIN [MyVar] ' <-- window pops-up waiting for input
          HSEROUT ["MyVar = ",DEC MyVar,13,10] '<-- displays input
          PAUSE 500
          GOTO Loop2
    I've attached a screen capture of the above running in MCS+ ICD. Tested on an
    18F4431.

    If you still have trouble try blinking an LED with the ICD just to make sure you have
    everything setup properly.
    One question :
    If I want to use ICD with 18F4550
    Code:
        DEFINE LOADER_USED 1 ' using MCS+ bootloader
        DEFINE OSC 48
    I get error from MCSP that can't find OSC48 setup for ICD in any file...
    Any help please.
    Regard's

Similar Threads

  1. Pbp - icd
    By Charles Linquis in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 16th March 2010, 04:26
  2. MCSP ICD does not work
    By ardhuru in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 19th May 2008, 21:15
  3. ICD Woes
    By spad13m in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 14th February 2008, 05:56
  4. How to set ICD-2 clone to work with PBP?
    By G-R-C in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 20th October 2006, 02:50
  5. PBP "USART.BAS" Doesn't Work
    By Corey in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 21st October 2003, 12:29

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts