LCD 4X40 Futurlec


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South-West of Australia. A small town called Denmark. 'Where the forest meets the sea.'
    Posts
    136

    Default LCD 4X40 Futurlec

    I'm using PBP to drive a 4X40 LCD from Futurlec driven by a PIC16F877A at 20 MHz

    I've read all/most of the 4X40 posts but still have a problem:

    1. The LCD is marked JHD404A1 on the back.

    2. I think the spec sheet published by Futurlec is wrong - there is no indication of two ENABLES although the data addresses for lines 1/3 and 2/4 are the same ($80-$A7 and $C0-$E7)?

    3. On the JHD web-site there is a JHD404A that has different pin-outs and includes two ENABLES. Looks hopeful:

    Pin 1 -8 Data 7 to 0
    Pin 9 ENABLE1
    Pin 10 R/W
    Pin 11 RS
    Pin 12 Contrast
    Pin 13 Ground
    Pin14 +5
    Pin15 ENABLE2
    Pin16 NC
    Pin17 Backlight +
    Pin18 Backlight -

    But still won't work despite:

    1. Long delay to let LCD settle
    2. Going through all combinations of ENABLE 1/2 at initialisation
    3. Painstaking checking of wiring from LCD to PIC877A
    4. Checking of DEFINES for LCD (DEFINE LINES set at 2?)
    5. Xtal is 20 MHz and is also DEFINED
    6. Other 2 and 4 line LCDs work OK using the same PBP program

    Anyone else out there using this Futurlec 4X40 LCD with PBP code. I'd welcome advice/comments/code.

    I may have missed some previous post but have searched this site all morning?

    Regards Bill Legge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    2. Going through all combinations of ENABLE 1/2 at initialisation
    How are you controlling the enable lines?
    External circuit?

    Which pins of the databus are you using?

    What's connected to the Contrast pin?

    Which pins of the PIC are you using?

    What DEFINES's are in your program?
    <br>
    DT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South-West of Australia. A small town called Denmark. 'Where the forest meets the sea.'
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    DT,

    Thanks for a speedy reply. I'm using a MikroElektronica EasyPIC5 developement board and my Futurlec 4X40 LCD is connected to the PORTB pins as indicated by the following code (How do you post code here?):

    DEFINE OSC 20
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 5
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50
    PAUSE 1000
    LCDOUT $fe,$80, "Line 1 & 3"
    LCDOUT $fe,$c0, "Line 2 & 4"

    Here: goto here

    END


    The ENABLE1 goes to PORTB.5 (as DEFINed) and I've grounded ENABLE2. I have also tried reversing ENABLE1 and 2.

    The contrast pin is connected to the wiper of a 10k variable resistor that sits between GROUND and +5.

    The contrast adjustment 'sort of works' but has variable effects each time I programme the PIC.

    my guess for the problem is:
    1. A wiring error on my part but I have done a careful job and checked the result 'pin to pin' with a continuity test.
    2. I've got the wrong pin-out for the Futurlec 4X40 LCD (I'm convinced that the spec sheet on Futurlec's US site is NOT the correct one.
    3. I'm doing something wrong with ENABLE 1 and 2.
    4. So far all I get on the LCD are black squares.

    Someone must have got the Futurlec 4X40 LCD working - I hope

    Regards Bil Legge

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    825


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    From the datasheet I have seen (link below) this 4x40 LDC has only one enable pin.(This is the only 4x40 that I have seen)

    http://www.futurlec.com/LED/LCD40X4BL.shtml


    Black square most of the times appear when you have a wrong contrast setting

    (you should have a pot with the center tap connected to pin 3 to adjust the contrast)

    Al.
    All progress began with an idea

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South-West of Australia. A small town called Denmark. 'Where the forest meets the sea.'
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 4X40 LCD From Futurlec

    Aratti,

    Thanks for your reply.

    1. the centre tap of the pot is connected to the contrast pin and does affect the contrast of the display but in an intermittant fashioin that changes with programming the PIC - It seems as if I've got the pin-out wrong, hence my concern that the data sheet on the Futurlec site is not the correct one.

    2. I agree with you that the Spec sheet of the 4X40 LCD on the Futurlec USA site shows only one ENABLE pin but it also shows rows 1/3 and 2/4 as having the same addresses (starting at $80 and $C0) - this would only work if there were separate ENABLE pins for lines 1/3 and 2/4.

    3. On the JDH site I can't find the JDH404A1 but the JDH404 and the JDH404A both show two ENABLE pins - hence my concern that the vendor's (Futurlec) spec sheet is wrong.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    26


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I mainly use Optrex displays and never have problems with them.
    Maybe I've been lucky, but I just thought I would mention it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South-West of Australia. A small town called Denmark. 'Where the forest meets the sea.'
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 4x40 futurlec lcd

    Brock,

    Thanks for your reply. I will have a look at Optrex LCDs.

    I have had a reply from Futurlec and they acknowledge that the spec-sheet on their US site was the wrong one. They also sent me the correct specification but I have yet to test it out. I presume they have also changed their web-site? Thank you Futurlec for a good response to me query.

    The new specification does have two ENABLE pins.

    Regards Bill Legge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hello Bill Legge,
    I am curious, as I have not used these 40 x 4 LCDs, do you have to Define which Ebit to use before the LCDOUT statement when you change lines, since they seem to use the same address values?
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Gerogetown, Texas
    Posts
    94


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Here is some code I used to control the 4x40 display. This is just the LCD part that demonstrates the enable selection
    Code:
    '**** LCD *******************************************************
    'Set LCD Data port
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
    'Set starting Data bit (0 or 4) if 4-bit bus
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
    'Set LCD Register Select port
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
    'Set LCD Register Select bit
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 0
    'Set LCD Enable port
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
    'Set LCD Enable bit
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 3
    'LCD RW Register PORT
    'DEFINE LCD_RWREG PORTB
    'LCD read/write pin bit
    'DEFINE LCD_RWBIT 5
    'Set LCD bus size (4 or 8 bits)
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    'Set number of lines on LCD
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 4
    'Set command delay time in us
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    'Set data delay time in us
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50
    
    LCD1_Disable    var portb.2
    LCD2_Disable    var portb.1
    '*** Program variables *****************************************
    
    
    
    lcdcnt     var  byte
    lcdlen     var  byte
    lcdline var byte
    lcd var byte
    lcdfunction var byte
    
    
    '***************************************************************
    
    ' Initialize LCD
    input LCD1_Disable 
    input LCD2_Disable 
    LCDOut $fe,1   'clear lcd
    pause 100
    LCDOut $fe,2   'home
    LCDOut $fe,$0c 'Curser off
    LCDOut "              USB 4X40 LCD   "
    LCDOut $FE,$C0
    LCDOut "              DAVE CUTLIFF    "
    low LCD1_Disable 
    input LCD2_Disable 
    LCDOut $fe,1   'clear lcd
    LCDOut $fe,2   'home
    LCDOut $fe,$0c 'Curser off
    LCDOut "         Highspeed USB Project  "
    LCDOut $FE,$C0
    LCDOut "             August 2005    "   
    pause 100
    goto idleloop

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South-West of Australia. A small town called Denmark. 'Where the forest meets the sea.'
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 4x40 futurlec display

    1. Joe S. I have not been able to get my 4X40 LCD to work - so I'm hardly the fellow to give you advice. However, I think you are right and the 4X40 is built like two 2X40 displays that have separate ENABLE pins and the rest are common. I presume one simply swaps from ENABLE1 to ENABLE2 according to what needs to be displayed.

    2. The new pin-out from Futurlec is NOT the correct one (Futurlec sheet is for a device 4004 and mine is a JHD404A1 with a different number of pins.) Adjusting/guessing the connections has yielded only fleeting black blobs - and yes, I do know that black boxes may be caused by too high contrast setting.

    3. I'm a bit irritated that Futurlec is selling a $40 odd LCD device and can't publish the correct spec sheet - and it's not to be found on the internet. There are quite a few different pin-outs for other 4X40 LCDs but none seem to work on the JHD404A1.

    4. Anyone go it to work? Futurlec must have sold a fair number of thes LCDs

    Regards Bill Legge

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Iowa, USA
    Posts
    216


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Bill - If it does happen to have 2 controllers, here is an excellent way to control it.
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=626

    Hope it helps.
    Wisdom is knowing what path to take next... Integrity is taking it.
    Ryan Miller

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South-West of Australia. A small town called Denmark. 'Where the forest meets the sea.'
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 4X40 Display

    Rhino,

    Thanks for the info. I have got a different 4X40 (DisplayTech LTd closing down sale for $5, how's that for a bargain) and - IT ALL WORKS OK - along with the code/circuits for driving two ENABLE pins.

    I would still like to track down the pin-out for the Futurlec JHD404A1 if anyone out there has the info.

    Regards Bill Legge

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    263


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up

    I use a lot of Crystalfontz displays with good (great!) success.

    http://www.crystalfontz.com/
    Russ
    N0EVC, xWB6ONT, xWN6ONT

    "Easy to use" is easy to say.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Futurlec LCD working now

    Hello,

    I managed to get the Futurlec 4 x 40 LCD working. In my case, I did this with a BASIC Stamp. I hope I'm not escorted to the door from this forum. I found this forum to find a solution for communicating with an LCD. See attached photo.

    Bill's initial thread actually had the correct pin assignments that were the key to getting me started, although the Futurlec LCD has no pins 17 & 18. Internet research had consistent documentation on 4 x 40 LCD with two rows of pins having different assignments than those posted on Futurlec's site. Those are clearly WRONG! Also, A and K connections are for the back light and are straightforward.

    The second challenge was understanding how to address the 3rd and 4th lines on the display. My experience with LCD displays was limited to 2 x 16 and 4 x 20 serial units that have an entirely different way to address the screen coordinates. The 3rd and 4th lines are addressed with the second enable pin. This forum clued me in on that .. thank you. So I had to initialize both controllers in the LCD and communicate with the device as basically a stack of two 2 x 40 LCDs in one unit. The LCDCMD command in PBASIC allows me to address a set of pins in 4 bit mode while allowing some flexibility on which pin is the enable pin. This permitted me to address both sets of lines by adding the one additional connection to the LCD for the extra enable connection.

    I am not versed on PIC language, but I'm sure it's doable if I've done it with the BASIC Stamp.... code attached.

    Rick
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South-West of Australia. A small town called Denmark. 'Where the forest meets the sea.'
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 4x40 futurlec display

    Rixter,

    Thanks for your message and I'm pleased to learn that the pin-outs in the first post are correct. I must have made some wiring error because they would not work for me? I will have another go.

    I have, since then, got some different 4X40 LCDs, with correct tech details, and they work well using the method posted by RHINO - a couple of resistors on the two ENABLE pins and a bit of code.

    One mistake that took me a long time to find was using the PBP command "CLEAR" after the definition on the LCD1-Enable and LCD2-Enable pins - the CLEAR command clears the definition:

    This won't work:
    LCD1-Enable VAR PORTD.1
    LCD2-Enable VAR PORTD.2
    CLEAR

    This will work:
    CLEAR
    LCD1-Enable VAR PORTD.1
    LCD2-Enable VAR PORTD.2

    Good luck - get off the Basic Stamps and into PICs soonest!

    Regards Bill Legge

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 4 x 40 LCD

    Thanks for the response Bill. Out of curiosity, what other 4 x 40 LCDs are you working with? When I ordered the Futurlec LCD I got a bit of tunnel vision and didn't pay attention to the true dimensions. Some how I didn't expect the unit to basically be twice the size of a 4 x 20, even though that would seem logical. I would rather trade for a bit smaller character size and be a smaller package overall for my implementation, which is a bicycle electronic route sheet device. Are any of the 4 x 40 LCD you've seen in smaller physical packages?

    As far as moving off of the BASIC Stamp, it would only be to take on another challenge or to address a particular issue not attainable with the Stamp rather than putting it down. As limited as they can be, they are easy to use for most of what I have asked of them. Like eating ice cream with handcuffs on, they are enjoyable to work with despite some discomfort and limitations. I am a programmer first, a fabricator second and an electronics expert last. I've learned much in the past two years on the electronics part. Despite learning many programming languages over the years, I come from an extensive background in BASIC and keep coming back to it. Does anyone remember Micro 80 magazine and the contests to solve a challenge in the fewest lines of code? Generally, one line programs won the contest. While I don't use it anymore, the "Trash 80" is still here and the spirit and fun of simple BASIC lives on. If I ever got into production level of my projects, I would definitely develop using a different platform, but that is not the case at present.

    Rick

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South-West of Australia. A small town called Denmark. 'Where the forest meets the sea.'
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Lcd 4x40

    Rick,
    My Displaytech 4X40s are about the same size as the Futurlec devices and I think you will find that most manufacturers will be the same.

    Many electronic magazines (e.g. Everyday Practical Electronics-December 2009. www.epemag.com) have recently carried articles on 'OLED'. These are Organic LED displays and are the type used in mobile phones. They appear to be:

    1. Smaller that the typical LCD.
    2. Much better resolution and colour: e.g. 160X128 pixel.
    3. Talk to the devices by SPI comms.
    4. Don't cost much.
    5. Pixel data is easy, text/figs difficult.
    5. But are a bugger to connect to-small pads/special connectors etc.
    6. Have a dig around the 'Spark Fun' web site - I bet they have something useful?

    I've not used one - only read a few articles - an 'armchair expert!'

    STAMP/PIC - I retired a few years ago and after 40 years away from electronics decided to re-visit it for a hobby. After a few months it became obvious that electronics these days centers on MCUs - I entered the field by getting the StampWorks kit. I've moved to PIC because of the price of chips and processing speed.

    I live in the back of beyond in South West Australia and have to get all my bits by post. I've settled on a few suppliers:

    1. Futurlec in Asia - Low cost boards and components. Documentation is sometimes terrible but I can now translate the 'Minglish.'
    2. MikroElektronica in Serbia - Good value developement boards.
    3. Olimex in Belgrade - Good value boards.

    My latest project is a sports pitch line marking robot positioned by counting wheel revs and getting direction by tracking the sun (lots of that here in Australia). I'm a year into the project and I'm sure it will work - but how well I don't yet know.

    Regards Bill Legge

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default datasheet required

    Dear Mr.Bill Legge,
    I need the correct datasheet for 40*4 lcd which you got finally from futurelec. I am not able to trace the exact datasheet. kindly help me in this regard

    murali

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Legge View Post
    Rick,
    My Displaytech 4X40s are about the same size as the Futurlec devices and I think you will find that most manufacturers will be the same.

    Many electronic magazines (e.g. Everyday Practical Electronics-December 2009. www.epemag.com) have recently carried articles on 'OLED'. These are Organic LED displays and are the type used in mobile phones. They appear to be:

    1. Smaller that the typical LCD.
    2. Much better resolution and colour: e.g. 160X128 pixel.
    3. Talk to the devices by SPI comms.
    4. Don't cost much.
    5. Pixel data is easy, text/figs difficult.
    5. But are a bugger to connect to-small pads/special connectors etc.
    6. Have a dig around the 'Spark Fun' web site - I bet they have something useful?

    I've not used one - only read a few articles - an 'armchair expert!'

    STAMP/PIC - I retired a few years ago and after 40 years away from electronics decided to re-visit it for a hobby. After a few months it became obvious that electronics these days centers on MCUs - I entered the field by getting the StampWorks kit. I've moved to PIC because of the price of chips and processing speed.

    I live in the back of beyond in South West Australia and have to get all my bits by post. I've settled on a few suppliers:

    1. Futurlec in Asia - Low cost boards and components. Documentation is sometimes terrible but I can now translate the 'Minglish.'
    2. MikroElektronica in Serbia - Good value developement boards.
    3. Olimex in Belgrade - Good value boards.

    My latest project is a sports pitch line marking robot positioned by counting wheel revs and getting direction by tracking the sun (lots of that here in Australia). I'm a year into the project and I'm sure it will work - but how well I don't yet know.

    Regards Bill Legge

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 40*4 lcd datasheet required -

    Dear Mr.Bill Legge,
    I need the correct datasheet for 40*4 lcd which you got finally from futurelec. I am not able to trace the exact datasheet. kindly help me in this regard

    murali

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Futurlec LCD

    Murali,

    If you are not able to locate the datasheet, what information are you seeking for this LCD? I have successfully attached this LCD to a processor as I explained in an earlier thread on this post. I have gotten another LCD from this company and it is yet a different LCD than the one I received the first time and different than the datasheet. Their information is not correct for the model mentioned in Bill's post or the second one I received.

    I found other similar pin diagrams for 4x40 LCDs that did the trick for me. The key lays not only in knowing which pins are for what, but also understanding that these units have two controllers.... one for the top two lines and the other for the bottom two lines. Pins 1-8 are for data (DB7 down to DB0 respectively). In my case I only use 1-4 because I am using 4 bit mode. Pin 9 is the enable for controller #1, Pin 10 is RW, Pin 11 is RS, Pin 12 is Contrast, Pin 13 is Ground (VSS), Pin 14 is VDD, Pin 15 is enable for controller #2 and Pin 16 is no connection. Pins A & K over at the opposite end are for the LED backlight..... A being positive and K being negative.

    So to write to lines 1 or 2 on the LCD, you must enable at Pin 9 before your write and to write to lines 3 and 4, you must enable Pin 15 before a write. In the case of BASIC Stamp that I am using, I just specify a different parameter in the LCDOUT command to activate the other enable pin in my outputs to the LCD. The concept should apply in your implementation as well.

    Anything I can do to help out, just ask.

    Rick

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South-West of Australia. A small town called Denmark. 'Where the forest meets the sea.'
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Futurlec 4X40

    Murali,

    1. The pin-out on the Futurlec site is wrong - a 4X40 MUST have two ENABLE pins.

    2. Rixter says he has got the device working using the pin-outs on my first post of this thread. They didn't work for me but I may have made some wiring/software error. These are the revised pin-outs sent to me by Futurlec.

    3. Take up his offer of assistance - after months of messing around with 4X40 LCDs I am starting to think they are not worth the trouble.

    4. It's quite irritating that Futurlec can not be bothered to put up the correct data on the web. I know their prices are rock bottom and they need to keeep costs down but it's only a few minutes of work?

    Regards Bill Legge

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Dear Rixter & Legge,
    Thanks for your prompt reply. Now my display is working for the first two lines or the second two lines. I am trying to complete the same

    Rgds

    Murali

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Futurlec LCD

    Murali,

    I am guessing that what you are saying is that you can get either the first two lines or second two lines to work, but NOT both at the same time.

    I'd say if you are getting all four lines to get something that you are well on your way to success and you have some minor code issues to check.

    You could have a couple of things going on there. You may be putting the LCD into a condition where the unit is resetting (initializing), as you do each write cycle. Or you could be doing a screen clear of the opposite set of lines that you are displaying. For example, you might be clearing lines 3 & 4 as you write to 1 & 2 and clearing 1 & 2 as you write to 3 & 4.

    My code would be different than what you would use because I am using a BASIC Stamp, but the logic should be the same. In my case, I am clearing lines 1 & 2, then writing to lines 1 & 2. Then I clear lines 3 & 4 before writing to lines 3 & 4.

    Rick

Similar Threads

  1. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 19:54
  2. Play with LCD on PICDEM
    By The IceMan in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2008, 16:56
  3. Need help with LCD number display.
    By Steve Matson in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 26th June 2007, 23:07
  4. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 02:30
  5. 4x40 LCD control problem
    By NL2TTL in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 5th January 2005, 11:43

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts