PDA

View Full Version : what IS an ICSP connector?

mslaney
- 12th December 2004, 12:01
I'm very new to PICs. I have read a few references but I need the explanation simplified.
My ICSP. I know that it allows programming on the fly but here are the questions that I have.

What do I attach my ICSP connector to? I have a Velleman 8048 kit with the connector on it but where is it supposed to go? The documentation simply says "To your application" but If I use the onboard LEDs and switches, that IS my application.
Do I need a second PIC that actually does the work while another handles the communication to the PC?

Does ICSP provide realtime debugging info on the PC? Kind of like the basic stamp software?

Yes, I am a recovering BS user that craves the power and cost of PICs.

c_Moore
- 12th December 2004, 13:38
Hi mslaney,

I hate to say this,but take a look at the datasheet and it will explain the ICSP function. If you have never looked at one,I know they can be a bit confusing. Also you don't need a second pic to do ICSP.that is a function of some pics.
also know as low voltage programming.
hope this helps

regards Charlie

mslaney
- 12th December 2004, 14:12
Thanks for your quick reply. The response time on this board is terrific thanks to folks like you.

As for the datasheet. I try to study as best I can but it does get a bit confusing. I suppose it's the myriad of options and features.
Never apologize for telling people to read the datasheet or manual :).

My programmer/trainer board is rather limited in terms of flexibility, it has 6 LEDs and four switches, so I think I'll try to build one on a big proto board. Any suggestions in addition to what is currently on this 'schematics' subgroup?

Thanks,
Mike Slaney

Luciano
- 12th December 2004, 17:14