PDA

View Full Version : newbie question

daphne8888
- 21st March 2008, 18:17
hi,
i am new with microcode studio.my problem is i need to connect switches to pic16f877 to "on" the pic so that i can send my data to the lcd.but how to "off" the pic to stop sending data by writing coding in pic?i need the command that can stop the pic from continue sending data when the switch is opened.thankz.

JD123
- 21st March 2008, 18:21
hi,
i am new with microcode studio.my problem is i need to connect switches to pic16f877 to "on" the pic so that i can send my data to the lcd.but how to "off" the pic to stop sending data by writing coding in pic?i need the command that can stop the pic from continue sending data when the switch is opened.thankz.

Hu? Try again. Makes no sense.

daphne8888
- 21st March 2008, 18:42
i mean that i connect a port to a push button where is the other end is connected to a pull up resistor with 5V. when i push the button, it will on. but after i release, it should b off but why my pic on the port still is 'high' ? got what coding that can change the input that "high" to "low"?

skimask
- 21st March 2008, 19:11
i mean that i connect a port to a push button where is the other end is connected to a pull up resistor with 5V. when i push the button, it will on. but after i release, it should b off but why my pic on the port still is 'high' ? got what coding that can change the input that "high" to "low"?
Still doesn't make much sense....losing something in the translation....
But if I'm getting what you're saying, the 'high' to 'low' command is right in the PBP manual.

JD123
- 21st March 2008, 21:08
The diagram says a lot.

The end of the switches that is connected to the resistors should go to ground and the resistors should go to the pin ports.

PIN<--------->SWITCH<---------->GROUND
^
|
|
|
L----------->RESISTOR<-------->Vdd(power)