PDA

View Full Version : PH Probe A/D Coverter ?

shawn
- 16th March 2008, 22:15
I am trying to interface a PH probe to a pic 18F458. The amplifier and buffer circuit for the probe puts out 0 - 14 volts correlating to the ph scale. I tried using the on board AD converter but the resolution is not good enough. I ran the signal threw a voltage divider so that I could scale down my 0 - 14 Volt ph reading. And calibrating the probe could be a problem because Vref+ is 5v. Calibration is at 4, 7, and 10. 10v / 2 = 5 which would be at the top of my vref with no room for error. I've looked all over the internet for an ad converter to fit my purpose but can't find one. This is what I am looking for and why. I want a 14 bit AD chip that is I2C bus capable, its Vref+ needs to be able to goto at least 16.384 volts and vref- needs to be 0v.The 16.384 v is so that I would have a resolution of 1mV. The I2C bus is needed because it is easy. I would try SPI but I am not very good at the protocol. Is there an AD chip thats Vref+ goes that hi. Does anyone know where to look for a chip like this. I looked at MC and Maxim but did not see anything close. They both had chips but nothing that has a Vref+ that hi.
Thanks
Shawn

shawn
- 16th March 2008, 23:25
Another question to help me solve this problem. When I first started playing with the VREF on the pics I thought you could raise vRef+ above vdd, well looking at the data sheets I learned I was wrong. My next question is can I raise Vref- above ground, say 1.33v or does vref have to be ground. The reason I ask, is because if I divide the output of ph probe amplifier by 3 then I should be able to get the range I want out of it in a 2V swing. If I can set vref+ to 2.354V and Vref- to 1.036V I will get a 2mV/Bit of resolution which I think will work for what I want to do.
It would still be nice to find an AD chip so I do not have to use voltage dividers.

Shawn

skimask
- 17th March 2008, 02:16