PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with Chuck Hellebuyck fuses

quester
- 28th February 2008, 22:30
I need to know what fuses should be enabled and disabled for my first project flashing one led. PIC16F876
WDT
BODEN
CPD
DEBUG
CODE PROTECT
PWRTE
LVP
WRT
OSILLATOR
I would be grateful for any help Thanks

BobK
- 29th February 2008, 00:58
Hi Quester,

I started learning with Chuck's book. I don't really remember setting any fuses in my first few projects as the programmer's software has some basic defaults that take care of your basic needs. If you use for example the internal clock instead of a 4mhz crystal then yes you would need to make a change but just go for it and see what happens. You really can't hurt anything and it really helps you learn how to troubleshoot your projects.

HTH,

BobK

quester
- 1st March 2008, 00:05
The programmer that I have needs to be set up for the fuses I mentioned for example osillater. I am using 4mhz. I understand WDT needs to be disabled and PWRTE need to be enabled also code protect needs to be disabled but the rest I dont know.
This is the list.
WDT
BODEN
CPD
DEBUG
CODE PROTECT
PWRTE
LVP
WRT
OSILLATOR

Archangel
- 1st March 2008, 06:14
Hi quester,
The first Catagory you see on the home page is Frequently Asked Questions where you will find this and many other very important threads.
http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=543
Please visit those threads, You will find them very helpful, and Welcome to this forum.
JS

elproducts
- 9th March 2008, 03:47
PICBASIC and PICBASIC PRO put those configuration fuses in a separate file. It will be the name of the chip with a .inc suffix (i.e. 16F876A.inc). You will find it in the PBP or PBC directory. When the compiler is run it will load in these fuses and embed those settings in the .hex file.
When you program the chip the programming software should load that information in automatically and then program the chip with those fuse settings.