PDA

View Full Version : ftdi without eeprom

cagdask
- 1st March 2007, 23:40
Hi all, i am a newbie designer from Turkiye. I want to connect 16f628 with ftdi232bm. actually designed and assembled an evolution board without eeprom. windows notices new device but notify me as device is not recognized, trying to install driver does not work neither. i thought maybe problem is because of not connected eeprom pins.(otherwise its possibly my awfull assembly). i am really in mass here. i observe correct voltage levels on pins. but nope its not working!!!

any help will be really appreciated...

skimask
- 2nd March 2007, 00:01
Hi all, i am a newbie designer from Turkiye. I want to connect 16f628 with ftdi232bm. actually designed and assembled an evolution board without eeprom. windows notices new device but notify me as device is not recognized, trying to install driver does not work neither. i thought maybe problem is because of not connected eeprom pins.(otherwise its possibly my awfull assembly). i am really in mass here. i observe correct voltage levels on pins. but nope its not working!!!

any help will be really appreciated...

You can't enumerate an FTDI232BM without a custom descriptor. 232BM datasheet says the custom descriptor is in the external eprom. You don't have an external eprom. Therefore, you can't enumerate an FTDI232BM without an external eprom.
However...the datasheet also states that the -232BM without an eeprom, when enumerated, will send back an FTDI VID&PID and power descriptor. So, make sure your driver's VID & PID match the generic FTDI VID & PID (i.e. you didn't change them).

cagdask
- 2nd March 2007, 00:12
skimask : thank you for your reply. but i've dont changed about driver. in fact it never comes to that point. i mean it never asks for drivers at all. i got an error msg : "USB Device not Recognized. One of the USB devices attached to this computer has malfunctioned, and Windows does not recognize it."

wfvisser
- 11th April 2007, 15:47