PDA

View Full Version : pic to pic communications

nrtshrdvr
- 4th July 2004, 16:48
Hello everyone.
I am new to the programming world and pics. I have been assigned with a project of making 2 16F877 pics comunicate with eachother. one will send a command and the other will do the command and report back that it was done. Is there someone who could explain this to me so I can understand it.

thank you all for your time

Squibcakes
- 15th July 2004, 07:54
Maybe another question for the FAQ? (Which is looking good!)

I need some further guidence from the PIC GODS/ess at Melabs....

I haven't had any luck getting two pics to talk on a very basic level and I think it has to do with the wiring.

Do the pics need to be wired via a resistor and serial data sent / received in inverted mode?

Or is a straight wire connection, no inverted mode good enough?

I just can't get the combination right!

I've had no problems sending and receiving data with and without a MAX chip to terminal programs.. but pic2pic? #&*@!!!

Cheers

Melanie
- 15th July 2004, 13:36
Getting two PICs to talk to each other in it's simplest form is ONE WIRE (plus Vss/Ground) connected from one PIC to the other. No other Hardware.

However, this is a HUGE topic. You can do a posting every day for a year and still not cover everything.

There are so many variables. A solution encompassing one set of variables, would be totally inappropriate for another.

Before making any kind of move in any direction you need to be armed with your design criteria...

1. How far apart are the PICs?
2. Are they both on the same PCB?
3. How many wires can you connect between the two PICs?
4. If not on the same board, are they connected by Cable?
5. If so, how many wires have you got to play with?
6. Is the interconnection going to be in a noisy environment?
7. Are you interconnecting by Laser, Infra-red, Wireless, Satellite or other method?
8. How FAST does the Data Transfer need to be?