PDA

View Full Version : USB joystick project

ZeroFusion
- 31st October 2006, 17:09
Hey,
I'm new to pic programming and for my final year at uni im doing something thats a little fun, building a usb pic controlled joystick! I'm writing a programme that i can use to test the joystick. I've not decided what to programme it in yet however its going to be either visual basic or C, C is preffered as im writing the programme in linux!

Can you help me with code to handle communication in and out?

thanks

sayzer
- 31st October 2006, 17:35
hi Zero,

Since you are in your final year at uni, I suggest that you consider a serial Joystick instead of a USB one.

Then, you can finish your project one day during a break in uni.

But if you chose USB, you will most likely finish your project after you graduate!

----------------------

scorpion
- 10th November 2006, 05:19
I made a USB joystick, but I used HIDMaker and It took about 2 days to get it how I wanted it.
If you use HID descriptors you dont really need a test program. windows has a config screen to take care of that for you and you will be able to test it out on some games.

edit: sorry linux... i read it, but i didnt read it.... sorry.

sirnoname
- 16th November 2006, 11:03
Make the Joystick as a mouse, then all 3D Shooter in Linux
are supported automatical :)
The mouse samples are deliverd by microchip ...

skimask
- 17th November 2006, 03:38
Hey,
I'm new to pic programming and for my final year at uni im doing something thats a little fun, building a usb pic controlled joystick! I'm writing a programme that i can use to test the joystick. I've not decided what to programme it in yet however its going to be either visual basic or C, C is preffered as im writing the programme in linux!

Can you help me with code to handle communication in and out?

thanks

Another final year at uni. Imagine that. X years at higher level learing facility and still asking basic questions....like how to do a search....go figure...