PDA

View Full Version : dsPIC ?!

xenon_xplo
- 15th September 2006, 00:23
i donno what is the difference between a High-End (18fxxx) PIC and a dsPIC (30fxxx) ?! plz some one help me out!

ronsimpson
- 1st December 2006, 04:00
I am not an expert but---
A PIC18Fxxxx is a better PIC16Fx with a multiply instruction, better memory, stack and more. Pic Basic Pro works with both.

A DSP is really good at math. (*,+,-,/, and shift) Some DSP can do several math functions in one clock. PBP will not work with a PIC30Fxxx. I wish!!!!!

mister_e
- 1st December 2006, 04:04
the best solution is to go on the Microchip website and compare both, side by side. DsPIC are really great but reaaaaaaaaallllllly different animal than other series 18F or lower.

No coincidence why there's not much compiler who support them. 'Till now Microchip C30, Hi-Tech C, and Mikro Elektronika if my memory is good. I heard that some other alreday work on this.... be patient...

I use them in some audio dsp stuff.

skimask
- 1st December 2006, 04:19
the best solution is to go on the Microchip website and compare both, side by side. DsPIC are really great but reaaaaaaaaallllllly different animal than other series 18F or lower.

No coincidence why there's not much compiler who support them. 'Till now Microchip C30, Hi-Tech C, and Mikro Elektronika if my memory is good. I heard that some other alreday work on this.... be patient...

I use them in some audio dsp stuff.

You're using them already? I was thinking about buying the MikroBasic for dsPICs and building one of those huge audio spectrum analyzers using their FFT code. How good is that Microchip code for Audio DSP (well, compared to the garbage they put out for the PIC18Fxxx series a few years ago)...
JDG

mister_e
- 1st December 2006, 04:38