PDA

View Full Version : Baked not fried chips.

Ron Marcus
- 1st May 2006, 20:45
I am just getting into reflow soldering the really fine pitched IC packages (like QLPs), and notice that a substantial amount of them need to be baked to drive off moisture prior to reflowing them. Has anyone dealt with this issue, and any tips?

Thanks,
Ron

mister_e
- 1st May 2006, 20:51
sounds weird to me.
What kind of machine are you using?
Wich temperature?
What kind of solder or are you using?
Lead-Free or not?

Usually, for smallest production AND when i was capable of, i did everything with my 2 hands, a solder pump, 0.062 solder, solder flux and, of course, isopropyl alcohol.

Ron Marcus
- 1st May 2006, 21:18
sounds weird to me.
What kind of machine are you using?
Wich temperature?
What kind of solder or are you using?
Lead-Free or not?

Usually, for smallest production AND when i was capable of, i did everything with my 2 hands, a solder pump, 0.062 solder, solder flux and, of course, isopropyl alcohol.
Ya know, I was that way too...Until I watched 40 plus parts (two QLPs with .5 mm lead spacing) solder and align themselves at the same time! And then...The thing worked!

I am using a Cuisinart digital convection oven, and it works fantastically. I have refrained from heating up the kid's Pop Tarts after using it with solder paste.
The Chipcon parts I am using are JEDEC class 3 for moisture susceptability.
I also want to use some large serial EEPROM memory in CASON8 packages, again with moisture warnings.

I have soldered a few with no problems, but I am having trouble with one. It seems that for the moisture sensitive ICs, they can actually explode from within, or fail from corrosion down the road. I am using lead solder at this time.

mister_e
- 1st May 2006, 21:26
how about using, even if i'm not a fan of it, some solder paste? I know Kester do some, but can't find the one i already used.. as now.

The Kester website may give some some great tips and info on that.