PDA

View Full Version : 12F629 won't erase and bandgap save?

Keith55555
- 4th April 2004, 01:09
Hi all,I tried programming a 12F629 a second time after thinking I may have configured things wrong.EPIC says I have successfully accomplished an erase but if I look at the first place in memory,it's not erased(everything else is) and of course when I hit run . EPIC then gives me an error that it indeed isn't erased and won't complete downloading the program into it.Is this chip destined for the ol' solder braid?I program a 675 right after the attempt on the 629 and it erases properly.Same power supply etc.
Also,I know that EPIC does a saving of the calibration of the internal osc(it won't let me even try programming without it on this chip)but does it save the band gap settings as well?Can't seem to find the band gap reference register in the data sheet.I'm new to these two and I know a lot has been written about them up here,so forgive any redundancy. -Keith

Melanie
- 5th April 2004, 11:47
Can't comment on EPIC matters as I don't use one, however the Bandgap is not too significant as it just trims the internal voltage references for POR and BOR to meet the published specifications.

However, if a byte/or bit in Flash won't Program or Erase then the device is usually only suitable for land-fill. Return it to your Point of Purchase under warranty if it applies.

Melanie

Keith55555
- 5th April 2004, 16:18
Thought so.Wish that could be avoided because I do think I programmed it in an illegal manner that I wish the programmer would have caught.Wouldn't bother returning it.My cost is unsoldering it and I only use surface mount stuff,so that's a big enough investment.Onwards and Upwards.