PDA

View Full Version : Soldering iron off topic

Ron Marcus
- 1st November 2005, 18:49
Hey folks,
I have been using my Weller TC201 for 25 years now. I have used it for soldering from pipe fittings to 0402 chip resistors (Not with the same tip!).
Now it seem that I go through a tip a week for fine soldering. Nothing has changed in the way I solder, but I was told Weller was sold and assume that the tip quality has plummited to increase profits. With that said, what would be a good replacement manufacturer/iron with long life, that won't cost many hundreds of dollars. It will be mainly for fine SMD and wire soldering.

CocaColaKid
- 1st November 2005, 22:13
If you do a lot of soldering I would think a hot air one would be the way to go. They are quite expensive though. We have three Edsyn 921 stations here and all work flawless other than we replace the tips about once a month or so. It seems the tips literally dissolve from the inside out. I had a tip a month ago that looked fine but was having a hell of a time soldering with. I had the temperature cranked up to 800ºF and it still wasn't working properly. After using my x-acto knife to clean some crud off that the sponge didn't I noticed that the tip actually fell right off leaving a nice hole. I don't think the problem is isolated to Cooper/Weller. I can remember having a tip for about 6 months before having to replace it.

badrad
- 2nd November 2005, 18:15
i've been using a circuit-test SX500 variable temp soldering station, and using to 0.4 mm tips. i have also notice the tips build up crud very quickly, but had been using the same one for the past 5 months. the problem i seem to have with these very fine tips is they tend to jam into the metal iron holder cage, and i wind up bending the tips. although initially a pain with the bent angles, i later found it quite effective with the SSOP chips.