PDA

View Full Version : Help getting design started....

sincity337
- 24th October 2005, 01:28
Hi Folks,

I am very new to the world of PIC's, and would like some advice on which direction to head in a project I'd like to implement using PIC's. Some backround on myself first and then the design. This is long so get comfortable...:-)
I have a basic grasp of electronics (just passed ISCET certification, studying for FCC) and have been interested in using PIC's for a long time. I bought a bunch of books and have a programmer and demo boards, but never got past blinking an led.
Just recently, I finally convinced work in footing the bill for the PIC class offered by RCG Research. It was a great class for someone like me. Someone who has never really done anything with PIC's, but understands the general usefulness of them. It also helped that I had some electronics training.
Anyway, after having gone through the class, I feel that I can now jump in with both feet and begin experimenting. Which brings me to where I think I need help in deciding which way to go, as I have an idea where the PIC and all it's power can help me out.
Here is what I have currently: I have a battery that is comprised of 15 cells connected together. It is charged via a constant current battery charger that feeds 4 amps (voltage varies) to the battery until I decide if all of the cells reach 2.05 volts. Each cell has to be checked individually as they NEVER come up to full charge at the same time and it is critical that they do not exceed the 2.05 volts for any length of time, as it tends to short the cell.