PDA

View Full Version : schematic drawing

saturnX
- 6th October 2005, 18:12
hi guys, i was wondering what software you guys use to draw schematics on the pc?

mister_e
- 6th October 2005, 18:28
I use P-Cad since many years now. Orcad is another great one i'd use before too... but i still stick on P-Cad.

I heard some great comment on something called Eagle too. but i never tried it.

mat janssen
- 6th October 2005, 18:32
I alway draw in paint.
I made a "library" of different components. And with copy and paste you can d a lot.
I want to add an attachment as an example but i could not find the browse button.

CocaColaKid
- 6th October 2005, 18:52
We use OrCad here but it's a tad on the expensive side.

dmairspotter
- 7th October 2005, 01:30
Express PCB has a schematic program you can download for free. It seems to be pretty good, but I'm no expert. Has a large library of parts. Way better than Paint.

Can be linked to their PCB software, but then you have to use them for your PCB's

saturnX
- 7th October 2005, 04:54
thanks guys. i will look those up later tonight. but feedback of others is still welcome.

Edit: Thought i'd include the url for <a href="http://www.expresspcb.com/">Express PCB</a> mentioned by dmairspotter.

Mike_Lynch
- 7th October 2005, 05:17
I use Eagle from Cadsoft depending on what part of the world you are you can download from http://www.cadsoft.de/ or http://www.cadsoftusa.com/ Available for Windows and various flavors of *NIX. Comes in other languages if english is not your favorate. If you use windows the program will take some getting used to as it does NOT adhear to some of the "Windows Conventions" i.e. insted of copy you have to select, cut to clipboard, paste from clipboard. The program comes with a good selection of library parts but the creation of custom parts can be confusing. Free non comercial use for one or two sided boards up to 3 inch by 4 inch.

saturnX
- 7th October 2005, 05:26
thanks Mike_Lynch will check it out too