PDA

View Full Version : Heart rate sensor MAX30102

astanapane
- 16th August 2020, 19:15
Dear all,

the covid-19 period, i have spent lots of time designing a 3D printed Adaptable medical Mask for covid-19. It was succesful using bio-compatible materials

(here's the liink: https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6667176630277947393/)

I have printed free of charge, for the kids in school about 50 of face shields in order to be safe inside the lectures.

The same i did for the professional 3D printed Adaptable Medical Mask, for Hospitals. Just printed couple of those for testing.

Now i would like to prepare a free of charge again low cost electronic heart rate circuit, for my sons classroom. Kids are in total 15 in class.

As it is my first time using I2C protocol, i would like your help in order to establish a connection with the heart sensor MAX30102.

If anyone have tried this sensor i would be much appreciated if you could share a part of your code.

I have in front of me the manual of the MAX30102 and all the control and register modes. Actually i'm reading this 2 days now, and really as a newbie, cant understand where to start from.

I will use the PIC18F26K22 at 16Mhz as from the PICBASIC manual I2C protocol needs to run up to 20MHZ using the I2CWRITE or I2CREAD software commands. (i hope i'm right)

Next the following ports will be used.

LATC.1 for Data
LATC.2 for Clock

also reserved two more ports for external serial display

LATC.6 for TX
LATC.7 for RX

Some MAX30102 registers

;-------------------------------------------------------------|
;------------------------ max30102 registers------------------|
define I2C_WRITE_ADDR $AE ; b10101110
define I2C_READ_ADDR $AF ; b10101111
define I2C_ID_ADDR $57 ; 7-bit version of the above
;define I2C_ID_ADDR 57h ; 7-bit version of the above

;//register addresses
;---------------------- STATUS REGISTER -----------------------
define REG_INTR_STATUS_1 $00
define REG_INTR_STATUS_2 $01