PDA

View Full Version : pic18f driving usb printers

ephesus
- 25th July 2005, 16:54
hi,
I am a beginner to USB,
I need some info about interfacing USB printers.
I feel better now after reading all "USB 2.0 specifications","USB device class definition for printing devices" and USB threads in forum. A few questions,

-is a pic18f able to drive USB printers as a host using pbp2.46 USB statements?
-how about page description language -PDL-?
-how to send a standard A4 text page from pic18f to printers -hp,canon,xerox etc.-?
-do all USB printers accept a standart text format or variations needed for different manufacturers?

My application is a kind of Guard Tour System including a portable recorder and ibuttons or rfid tags
for security checkpoints. it works well with the interface software on pc or directly reports to rs232 printers.
Thanks to picbasic pro.
Now planning to upgrade to USB printers.

Thank you very much...

mister_e
- 26th July 2005, 00:02
As i know, a PIC can't drive a Printer. You'll need something like those ALFAT chips.

See this link
http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=2102

ephesus
- 26th July 2005, 11:07
Steve,
Yes, there are many interface chips like FTDI's and usb onchip microcontrollers and many adapter solutions. I really wonder if an ascii
text page based printer driver for any of brands -HP,Canon..- could be written by pbp for 18F family usb pics.
Thanks

Serkan

mister_e
- 26th July 2005, 17:48
PIC are not design to handle external USB device. They are design to work as an external USB device... well, that's the simplest explanation i found.

Dwayne
- 26th July 2005, 17:54
Hello ephesis,

E>> I really wonder if an ascii text page based printer driver for any of brands -HP,Canon..- could be written by pbp for 18F family usb pics. <<