PDA

View Full Version : pic with countdown timer register?

evildrome
- 30th September 2014, 15:24
Hi All,

Newbie question...

Is there a PIC with a countdown timer register ?

I have an external event and on the event I want to calculate a delay (max 0.8 seconds), load it to a countdown timer and have an interrupt when the timer reaches zero.

Are there any PIC chips with that sort of capability?

Googling 'PIC Countdown timer' just gets you lots of results for how to build 0-99 sec timers.

Thanks,

Wilson.

pedja089
- 30th September 2014, 15:38
There is interrupt on overflow. You can easy calculate start value, depending on clock speed, prescaler settings and desired time/frequency for interrupt.

AvionicsMaster1
- 30th September 2014, 15:46
Being a non wonderful programmer myself I wonder why you'd need a countdown timer? At the maximum of .8 seconds you'd never be able to display the countdown sequence.

Why can't you use a chip that has an Interrupt on Change pin? Use the IOC event, calculate the delay and use a pause command?

towlerg
- 30th September 2014, 19:04
@AvionicsMaster1. Not wanting to be rude but that is a terrible idea, you will tie up the PIC doing nothing but pausing. The countdowntimer is so much better, little or no cpu time used for little or no programming effort.

George

AvionicsMaster1
- 1st October 2014, 05:53
I got the idea the event wouldn't happen all time and wouldn't require a pause every second of .8 second.

Even if there was only .2 seconds couldn't he do like 200 commands doing something else?

Just to me, a pause for an intermittent event would make more sense.

PS Maybe ifn I knew all of what he was trying to do I wouldn't make a poor suggestion like that. You'd also have to work harder than that to be rude. Teach on.

HenrikOlsson
- 1st October 2014, 07:22
Hi,
As far as I know there no count down timers in any PIC but I don't really see the need for one.