PDA

View Full Version : Help With Easy Radio Modules

hughgoodbody
- 19th May 2005, 15:38
I am trying to send some data wirelessly using easy radio modules. I want to transmit the value read on a potentiometer to a receiver. I am having a little trouble with the code and the timing! I am a bit of a novice at this! I am using the SEROUT and SERIN command which I assume is the correct method.

On the transmit side the command is:

SerOut PORTB.5\PORTB.7, 32, [Dec PotResult]

and on the receive side, the command is:

SerIn PORTB.6\PORTB.4, 32, [Dec PotResult]

I am receiving some data, but it is a little muddled.

Has anyone tried this before? Do I need to incorporate any delays into the commands? I would most appreciate any assisstance!

Hugh

mister_e
- 19th May 2005, 18:13
for wirless comunication, you should use Manchester encoding/decoding. do a search on this forum. You should have some tip to mak everything work as you want.

OR you can also use Holtek encoder/decoder ICs.

Have a look http://www.rentron.com/remote.htm for some examples.

nimonia
- 20th May 2005, 05:43
wat modules? cm02 and rf04? arent they i2c?

Ron Marcus
- 20th May 2005, 13:36
Unless you are sending a long string of data, Manchester encoding is unneccessary. What IS neccessary, is to stablize the receiver's data slicer to the center point of the incoming data. There is a comparator that has one leg tied to the average voltage of the incoming signal, or lack thereof. If there is no signal, then the noise level can be anywhere in the normal output range. In AM receivers, it tends to be low with no signal, in FM,high.
When that data starts coming in, it slowly brings the average voltage towards the center of the output voltage range. If you try to send data before the comparator stablizes, you get garbage. What you need to do is send a character that is balanced, enough times to "warm up" the data slicer.