PDA

View Full Version : what's similar to the 16f84a?

kenpo
- 17th February 2005, 19:10
Hei there,

what I'm wondering is, what are my alternatives to the 16f84? things that are still code and pin compatible. (I'm using PicBasic PRO 2.45)

The 16f628a seems great with it's internal oscilaltor (been using it) so I'd like something else like that.

why do I ask? I'm a student ordering samples for microchip.com. they don't ship to students, which is too bad,
and confusing, becuase I'll be the future user for their stuff. so i can't just ask for 18 16f628a's (I'm limited to 3 of each chip type).

so what chips can I order that are like it? I want to just port over my code.
so far I see the 16f84, 16f84a, 16f628 (a), and the 16f648 (which is the 28 with 4k?). do I have any other options?
my budget is very small and I'm doing a test run of 20 animatronic units, so I need to cut my costs as much as possible.
I hope no one is insulted by this quesiton or thinks I'm just trying to scam microchip, with servos and everything else I need, i'm just broke.

Thank you very much for your time.

PICMAN
- 18th February 2005, 08:30
hate to ask this, after closer inspection of my chips, i relize im using pic16f84a aswell, i thought it had an internal osilator, but didnt see any thing on the data sheet, it doesnt happen to be at 4 mghz does it? and what do i do to use it, if ne thing

NavMicroSystems
- 18th February 2005, 15:46
kenpo

a 4MHz 16F628 is about $2, can't you really afford this ?

NavMicroSystems
- 18th February 2005, 15:54
PICMAN

I'm not sure what your question is actually about, but the datasheet will tell you all the details.

See: Datasheet (http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/35007b.pdf)

The PBP Manual shows an example of "how to wire an 16F84" in section 2.4

kenpo
- 18th February 2005, 17:49
$2 where?