PDA

View Full Version : PIC chips, stepper motors and precision

Demon
- 5th February 2005, 17:19
I am considering making a small PCB drilling station and I was wondering just how precise we can get using this technology. Are we able to go down to thousands of an inch?

If Pic BASIC Pro is unable to accurately measure distance and we require an external distance-mesuring-tool, I was wondering if there was something we can do with an ordinary optical mouse. Two units could be placed to measure the X and Y displacement.

I'm new to PICn my nose, and even more so when it comes to robotics. I was wondering if it was possible to build such a device with decent accuracy without needing components from NASA subcontractors.

Robert
:)

mister_e
- 5th February 2005, 17:29
Hi Robert,

I think everything is possible using step motor control. IMO the accuracy, precision will be more in the gearing you place than in some IR detection.

I'd already think to do something like that few years ago. Looks like i'm not the only one who's tired to use a stand-alone mini-press drill system and scrap my eyes on drill bit to pad allignement ;)

The PCB software i use (P-CAD), create a x/y mapping .TXT file. i was planning using this file by sending info to the PIC thru COM port.

Once the PCB is drilled, place the film over and etch it. Not sure if it's the best solution but make enough sense to work.

Demon
- 5th February 2005, 18:28
Thanks Steve.

I'd say etch first, then drill. I've often read that drilling creates a small 'lip' around the hole, interfering with the proper etching of pads.

STEP #1:

- use a bolted drilling platform for each PCB format you drill.

- drill 4 corner holes on the platform using the software, they will be your pilot holes.

- place metal rods in the holes tall enough to hold several PCBs in place.

STEP#2:

- etch your PCB, always including those 4 corner holes.

- manually drill the 4 corner holes.

- slip 2 or 3 etched PCBs onto the drilling platform.