PDA

View Full Version : PICs and harsh environments

Nicmus
- 8th February 2009, 05:00
Hi everyone,

I’m planning on building few gismos for automotive application based on PIC microprocessors and I will need to interface with some custom sensors and other modules. I will be dealing with ADC input, and digital inputs and outputs. Because this will be a long term step by step project I would have used and unused PIC I/Os for expansion.

The question I have is does anyone recommend a particular configuration of the I/Os so they are safe from the extremely harsh environment on both aspects: electrical and mechanical / chemical (vibrations, water and (or) other fluids).

I have some experience and I got good results potting the PCBs with different epoxy type products which will take care of the mechanical aspect. I will also make sure I will filter my 12 V in as well as possible along with the 5 V line and the mandatory decoupling capacitors next to VDD – VSS pins.

What I’m looking for is some kind of protection so my I/Os don’t get randomly zapped or fooled by EMI. I’m not dealing with extremely fast signals so I guess just a T like configuration, limiting resistor series + capacitor to ground + limiting resistor series might do. Should I go to the extreme of using voltage suppressors?
Also, how do I deal with an ADC input without messing up the input voltages (I expect 0 – 5 V full scale) and without loosing resolution?

Any input will be appreciated.

Nick

erice1984
- 4th April 2009, 23:31
I recently made a circuit thing, it worked great in my "lab" environment but once I put it in the car, it made this high freq ringing, extremely annoying and took it out. In the mean time I am trying to figure out what I 'left' out of the build.

I would say yes to the capacitors... this I noticed from looking at other schematics and re-reading what I should have already known about it.

I am curious to see what advice is given from the seasoned vets, /subscribed

aratti