PDA

View Full Version : PIC to Relay

Kalind
- 10th November 2008, 11:39
Hi guys. I want to use my pic to switch on/off a load (240v Light bulb) via a 5v relay. What transistor would be suitable, what relay and what diode should i use for "flyback"?

The Master
- 10th November 2008, 13:59
I best leave the choice of transistor to someone else because im not an expert with those. I can help you with the rest though. A standard 1N4001 1A 50V rectifier diode has always worked fine for me when using relays/solenoids etc.

You could use a triac instead of a relay too. It eliminates the annoying clicking sound and enables you to control the brightness if you want to take it that far

RussMartin
- 11th November 2008, 00:26
Hi guys. I want to use my pic to switch on/off a load (240v Light bulb) via a 5v relay. What transistor would be suitable, what relay and what diode should i use for "flyback"?

There are a huge number of choices, but if you want a quick solution, a generic NPN transistor like the 2N3904 would do it. If you're using 5 volts on the relay, a 2N7000 MOSFET would be even better. You can find circuit examples for both on line.

The 1N4001 is a good choice for the flywheel diode. It's already been suggested that you consider using a triac instead of a relay, and this is an excellent idea. A sensitive-gate triac can be used, or you can use a triac driver like the MOC3033.

Kalind
- 11th November 2008, 07:22
Thanks for those quick replies russ n master. Would you happen to know of a specific model 5v relay that would be able to switch an AC load (240v house-hold globe)? I prefer using the relay although its noisy :). Im just beginner and trying to figure out controlling that triac will just end up taking too long. For now i'll use a relay. Maybe later when i have some time will i experiment with a triac.

The Master
- 11th November 2008, 10:46