PDA

View Full Version : PIC vs PLC (programmable logic controller)

pondindustrial
- 15th December 2004, 18:58
Hi all,

I’m fairly new to PIC microcontrollers and have been experimenting for the last month or so with a PIC16F877. I have an extensive background in PLC (ladder logic) and VB programming. Curious, what is the difference in a PLC and a PIC, seems the memory is comparable, how about the other aspects, outside of the physical differences like terminals, programming methods, etc, all of which can be added to a PIC.

1) Is a PIC faster or slower than an Allen Bradley Micrologix-1500 LRP processor, assuming a crystal frequency of 20Mhz for the PIC? http://www.ab.com/plclogic/micrologix/1500 link to the ML-1500 PLC…

2) Is a PIC as reliable and robust as a PLC, assuming good code writing skills?

3) Any disadvantages to using a PIC in the place of a PLC for a product that will only undergo manufacturer code changes?

A PIC seems as if it could easily take the place of a PLC for an application that doesn’t require the flexibility PLC’s offer, like a project that can be developed once and recreated on a large scale. Where am I going wrong, seems to simple of an answer, and since a PIC is FAR less expensive as compared to a PLC.

Thanks, Eric (new member, first post)

cupajoe
- 17th December 2004, 18:34
Eric,

I develop industrial machines for the food industry. I use both PLCs and PICs. I will attempt to answer your questions / observation.

I believe that you aren't comparing apples to apples. Heck I don't think that you are comparing apples to oranges, more like apples to apple seeds!